Vegan Pumpkin Chip Muffins

I spent the day with a great friend of mine yesterday and she made a batch of pumpkin chip muffins. I really wanted to eat one, but I resisted! Instead, I asked for the recipe and today I “veganized” it. I’m pretty impressed with myself. They turned out super delicious! They certainly taste a bit healthier, but they are still a great “sweet” treat since I don’t really eat those anymore. I’ll definitely make these again. My friend says they are even better the second day.

Ingredients:

3 flax eggs (1 tablespoon ground flax seed whisked together with 3 T water for each egg; let sit in the refrigerator for at least 15 minutes before using so it sets up a bit)

1 cup evaporated cane juice

1 – 15 oz can pumpkin

3/4 cup unrefined coconut oil

3/4  cup unsweetened applesauce

1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour + 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour + 2 T unbleached all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 T salt

1 cup vegan chocolate chips

Preparation:

Beat flax eggs, evaporated cane juice, pumpkin, oil and applesauce until well combined. Add dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips. Fill lined muffin cups 3/4 full. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. May also be baked in a greased loaf pan. Adjust baking time accordingly.

I was going to use all whole wheat pastry flour, but I only had 1 1/2 cups. I liked the combination of the two, though. Gave it a really good consistency without being too dense and heavy. Hope you give them a try! Enjoy!

One thought on “Vegan Pumpkin Chip Muffins

Comments are closed.