The Scortch Trials – James Dashner

So I finished book 2 of the Maze Runner series this morning.  My friend Jake recommended the series after we were talking about the Hunger Games.  He felt that it was the original Hunger Games.  I was intrigued as I had already read a synopsis of the book earlier and had tagged it as part of my Kindle wish list.  I really enjoyed the first book and this one picked up right where it had left off.  We do have a group of kids in a post apocalyptic world trying to survive, and they’ve been placed on trial seemingly against their will.  To me that’s really where the similarities end.  The book was a little slow to get going, but once I got about 1/3 of the way in I really started flying through it.  The book does a good job of character development which is what I really enjoy out of my books.  It also gets you thinking.  I don’t know how many times I went back and forth trying to figure out who is good and who is bad.  Being that it’s the middle book of a trilogy I can tell you the cliff-hanger left me still wondering who is good and who is bad.  I’d give the book 4.5 out of 5 stars and I’m really looking forward to getting the 3rd book and getting to conclude this series.

One thought on “The Scortch Trials – James Dashner

Let's hear it!

