Vegan Sushi Rolls and some musings…

As promised I said I would post some pictures and the recipe for the Vegan Sushi that we made the other day.  So I’m going to do that, but first I just had a few musings to share.

First, its so much easier to blog when its new and fresh.  I find that the longer we have the blog the more I have to actively think about blogging instead of just jumping to get a post out there.  Its kind of like the few times I’ve tried to journal.  Easy to start, difficult to keep up.  That being said I’m really going to try to keep up, I do think its a good outlet for what’s going on in our lives.

Second thought for the day is that its been SO hot here lately.  Today we topped out at 106 degrees F.  That’s just the regular reading.  It truly felt like standing in a hair dryer or convection oven today because of the wind.  We need rain so badly here as well.  Supposedly there are thunderstorms tonight and a break in the heat.  I’m praying for both, our CSA grower could certainly use the help.

Speaking of the CSA, today we got a mega bounty.  We got watermelon, italian parsley, eggplant, garlic, onions, tomatoes, broccoli, carrots and potatoes.  Its been awesome, again I can’t believe we haven’t done this before.

Jackie and I did our last tune up if you will before doing the 5K on Saturday.  I busted out a 5K in 30 minutes this morning.  If the heat breaks I think I could get close to my goal.  We’ll see, I’m just happy with where I’m at anyway.  And I’m so proud of Jacks for sticking with it.

Onto the rolls: (Tweaked from a recipe by David Burt that we learned at a cooking class.)

 

Ingredients:

Pkg of Nori Maki seaweed sheets (toasted or toast them yourself)

Nori Maki Roller

Sushi Rice (recipe below)

Filling (we used marinated veggies recipe below and avacado)

 

Sushi Rice:

2 C. Sushi Rice

2 1/4 c. water

1/3 c rice vinegar (I used a mix of brown rice and lime flavored)

2-3 T. sugar

2-3 t salt

Directions:

Wash rice 3 times and drain.  Place rice and water in heavy-bottomed pan with a tight lid.  Leave lid ajar and bring to a boil as quick as possible.  Turn heat to low and cover tightly. Let simmer 10 minutes.  Turn off heat and remove from stove. Do NOT remove lid! Wait 15 minutes, then season with sugar, salt and vinegar. Stir with a wooden spoon releasing steam. Place on a cookie sheet to continue cooling.  Cover with damp towel. Use rice at room temperature.

 

Marinated Veggies:

1 qt mixed julienned veggies (we used carrot, squash, cucumber and scallions)

2 T. tamari soy sauce

2 T. apple cider vinegar

1 T. sesame oil

Cilantro leaves to taste

Black Pepper

Drizzle of Agave

Combine all ingredients and toss a few times.  Stir occasionally and let sit for a few hours.

 

Roll creation:

Finally assemble and you should get some products that look like the following:

Vegan Sushi Roll 4

Vegan Sushi Roll 2

Vegan Sushi Roll Presentation

