Book Review: Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

First off let me tell you I’ve been a slacker about blogging.  Seriously I don’t know how professional bloggers do it.  Perhaps its because they make money off it and depend on people reading their blog.  I’ll try to be better.  I’ve been meaning to write this review for two weeks, anyway onto the review.

Forbidden takes place in a futuristic earth.  Hundreds of years have passed since a major war and a virus that had been unleashed on has taken its toll on society to the point that everyone has no emotion other than fear.  Its an interesting premise for a book, the only thing that can save people and bring them back to full life is blood.  The allegories to Christianity are very obvious and its an enjoyable enough read, I’m already halfway through the sequel, so it didn’t turn me off so much that I wouldn’t read another one.  My biggest issue is that I feel Ted Dekker has sort of become a one note writer.  This just seems like another continuation/rehash of the circle books.  Its somewhat edgy, I like how it makes me think about the real meaning, but other than that I’ve had better novels that I’ve read.  If I was rating it out of 5 Stars I’d give it about a 2.5.

Let's hear it!

