Book Review: Ethical Chic: The Inside Story of the Companies We Think We Love by Fran Hawthorne

I finished this one Saturday morning.  It was a good read, certainly not my standard fare seeing that I generally stick to fiction books.  So it took a bit longer for me, but it was still really a rather interesting book.  The whole premise of the book is looking at what we think we love about certain companies and seeing if they really are socially responsible.  The book focused on 6 different companies: Apple, Starbucks, Trader Joes, American Apparel, Timberland and Toms of Maine.  I was especially intrigued by Trader Joes and Starbucks, but I found all the rest of the information equally interesting.  I must say the chapter on Apple really made me want to read more about the company.  Some of the items that the book also focused on was what happens when many of these smaller companies get purchased by a larger conglomerate.  I mean really are they still able to hold to the virtues that we think we love about them and do they still stay cool and hip.  This to both Jackie and I hit home right away with the Tom’s of Maine story… We loved their toothpaste until Colgate bought them up and they added SLS (Sodium Laurel Sulfate).  Anyway, I did really enjoy the book, liked learning more about the companies and it really did get me thinking more about what I care about out of a company.  I think it was well researched and well written.  I’d give it a 4 out of 5 star rating.

