Book Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

I just finished reading The Death Cure.  The third and final book in a trilogy that just recently had a prequel come out to make it 4 books instead of a trilogy.  This book again finds us with the same main cast, Thomas, Minho, Jorge, Brenda, Teresa and Rat Man.  WICKED is trying to save the world but Thomas and the rest of the Gladers just can’t bring themselves to trust that WICKED has the best intentions at heart.  There is a lot of story to wrap up in this book as to how the world turns out for better or worse.  I really wish that I could say that I loved the book and liked how Dashner finished out the series, but I can’t say that.  I’m actually left really disappointed in it all.  For all the character development in the first 2 books I liked this book just didn’t seem to have it.  We also didn’t really have any big twists to the story or anything that made it as interesting as the other books.  There were some struggles and dealing with things that no young person should ever have to deal with that did get me thinking, but again I’m still just left unsatisfied.  There was a lot of fighting and action sequences which just seemed to lead to another one without any good plot drivers.  I still did enjoy the writing style and the pace of the book was a quick read, but I’m only going to give it 2.5 out of 5 stars, mediocre at best.

Let's hear it!

