Book Review: You Are Not So Smart: Why You Have Too Many Friends on Facebook, Why Your Memory Is Mostly Fiction, and 46 Other Ways You’re Deluding Yourself You Are Not So Smart: Why You Have Too Many Friends on Facebook, Why Your Memory Is Mostly Fiction, and 46 Other Ways You’re Deluding Yourself by David McRaney

Gotta tell all of you first off that I’m not used to reading more than one nonfiction book every couple of months.  This is uncharted territory for me my friends.  Onto the review.

 

First off I really have to say that I liked the book a lot from how it was written.  As I got into the book I was keyed into the fact that all the chapters really started out as a blog on the internet and the book was really just a way to capture all of the blogging.  So given that it was written in that style it was fast paced enough and the topics weren’t terribly long or in depth.  Just enough to get me thinking about how I really think and move onto the next topic.

Speaking of which, I figure I should put in here what the book is about.  Its a collection of stories/articles that really debunk the way in which we think.  Its essentially a psychology book, and it really does get a person thinking about what it is we think and why we think the way that we do.  I found it rather fascinating and have actually been putting some of what I’ve learned to use in the work place.  Its at least made me more conscientious about things.  We can’t complain about that at all.

I think given the quick read, the engaging topics and the fact that it really has motivated me to pay more attention I’m going to give it a 4 out of 5 stars.  I could rate it higher but I would have really enjoyed a summary at the end or a little bit more in the way of suggestions for improvement beyond our coming to our own conclusions.  I realize that would defeat some of the purpose, but still.  I’d suggest it for anyone even slightly interested in the topic.

One thought on “Book Review: You Are Not So Smart: Why You Have Too Many Friends on Facebook, Why Your Memory Is Mostly Fiction, and 46 Other Ways You’re Deluding Yourself You Are Not So Smart: Why You Have Too Many Friends on Facebook, Why Your Memory Is Mostly Fiction, and 46 Other Ways You’re Deluding Yourself by David McRaney

Comments are closed.