Book Review: The Rise of Nine – By Pittacus Lore

If I haven’t told you all already, I’ll say it again, for whatever reason I’m a huge fan of young adult fiction.  There are times when I think to myself, how did I miss all this wonderful material when I was growing up.  When I was a teen I was reading Grishom and Crichton, now that I’m older I’m reading what I theoretically should have read then.  Whatever, I say if you find something you like and it has you reading you should keep up with it, for the most part at least.

Anyway I finished this book last night.  This is the 3rd in the series so far, dealing with our friends from the planet Lorien and their counterparts the mogadorians.  Its one of your classic alien sci-fi stories in that we’ve got the bad guys who want to take over the universe and need to concur the Earth to do so, and you’ve got the good guys that had their planet destroyed that came to Earth and are hell bent on saving the Earth and the people on it while ridding the world of the bad guys.  So in general I loved it right?  That would be a true statement.  Its a really short quick read and as with all the other books in the series it left me wanting more.  This book I think was the least successful of the three so far in that I thought it lacked some of the character development and relationships that we found in the other books.  There wasn’t quite as much internal strife, more action and for sure more jumping around with the characters and their narration of the story.  We were introduced to Number 8, you would have thought we’d have more of a story about 9, but I thought his story was pretty ho hum, we could have put some more focus on him.  But the story still revolves for the most part around Number 4 (John).  In that I was happy.

For any of you fans of young adult fiction out there, I’d suggest the book, but I’d also say make sure you read “I am Number Four” and “The Power of Six” first.  I’m going to give it 3.5 out of 5 stars, but I was leaning towards going higher.  I’m trying to be more critical in my reviews.  I can’t just give everything a 4 or a 5, so I’m keeping this one down a bit, just because I felt like it was a bridge story waiting for the next book where all the meat is really going to be captured in the story.

Let's hear it!

