A day to enjoy the fall colors and getting outside, along with some tasty treats.

Yesterday was an absolutely fantastic day.  It was about 75 and sunny, you know any of you Californian’s are spoiled by that weather.  Here in Iowa we get this oh a few times in the spring and a few times in the fall so when we have it, I know that we can’t let the day go to waste.

I made a new recipe for breakfast yesterday.  Sweet Potato pancakes… Recipe to follow at the end of this.  It was awesome.

So yesterday I started out by going to the driving range.  I’m not much of a golfer but I figured why the heck not.  By the end of my bucket of balls I was hitting the driver pretty well, I was proud of myself and I may actually go play a round with a friend next weekend.  After that I decided to go grab a geocache at Morgan Creek Park.  For those of you that are new to geocaching, essentially its like a high tech version of hide and go seek or treasure hunting.  Well there was one left in the park that I still hadn’t been able to get because it has been disabled for awhile.  It got relisted last month so I though I know where its at I may as well go get it.  Well… this one happens to be submerged in the middle of the aforementioned creek.  🙂  So I rolled up my jeans and started wading… Man that water was COLD.  I’m not sure I ever really warmed up the rest of the day.  I didn’t think the creek was all that deep, but I was wrong about that too.  (SO glad I left my cell phone in the car.)  Anyway I got the geocache from the bottom of the creek, signed the log and went on my merry way.

I made some lunch trying a new recipe for Kohlrabi, Potatoes and Peas… It was a good way to use our stuff, but I’m not really all that sure that I’d try it again.

Jacks had the idea to go to the park for a hike in the afternoon with Basil.  So glad we did.  We went to Palisades Keppler State Park which is about 15 minutes away from us.  Its a beautiful park that is right on the edge of the Cedar River.  There are a lot of bluffs and some really wonderful trails.  In the winter the amount of eagles that you can see is awesome.  We had a lot of good opportunities for photo’s and I think we got some good ones of us together.  Always a bonus.  Judge for yourselves.

DSC_0042

DSC_0036

I particularly enjoy the picture of Basil just looking up the stairs. Its like he’s saying, “Come on, what are we waiting for!” The family picture I also enjoy, although I think it would have been a smidge better had the focus been set on us instead of the pillar. Sorry all, I’m not an expert with the self timer shooting yet. Jacks suggested I get one of those little remote shutter devices… Now that would be cool.

Burning off all those calories hiking lead to a Vegan Peanut Butter bar treat (my favorite) followed by a delicious bar style meal featuring Gardein Sliders, French Fries, Baked Beans and a tasty beer… To be reviewed in tomorrows inaugural “Sunday Sips”.  It was a truly wonderful day.

So I also promised a recipe… Here is is.

Sweet Potato Pancakes adapted from the Southern Food Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg
  • 2/3 cups mashed cooked sweet potatoes
  • 1 flax egg (1 tablespoon ground flaxseed, 3 tablespoons of water, mix and allowed to sit in fridge 15 min)
  • 3/4 cups almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons earth balance spread, melted

Preparation:

Mix together dry ingredients into a medium bowl. Combine remaining ingredients; add to flour mixture, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened. Spoon 1/4 cup onto hot greased griddle or skillet and fry, turning once, until browned on both sides.  Makes about 10 pancakes.

sweet potato pancakes

