Sunday Sips: Newcastle Werewolf Ale

I got the idea to do a review of tasty adult beverages from The Vegan’s Husband.  I thought it sounded like a really fun thing to put on the blog.  Especially since I really do enjoy trying a new beverage.  To me its more fun than sticking with just one type.  I also really enjoy sharing that experience with others.  I’ve crashed and burned a lot and poured out many a beer, which I’m sure that some people would find appalling.  I’ve got to tell you though, if you don’t like it why keep putting it in your body.  There is something to be said for not wasting, but still.  I’m also not one for getting drunk, I just prefer to enjoy my beverage for the taste.  I’m going to review both beers and spirits, so it should be a fun time.  So with that I’ll get to the review.

Jacks and I were browsing through the wine and spirits section of one of our local Hy-Vee’s and she noticed the Werewolf Ale by Newcastle.  I couldn’t help but think it would be perfect for the first review.  What a fun idea for a seasonal beer.  I love Newcastle itself so I was intrigued to try.

DSC_0054
The beer promised to be an English Red Ale.  As you can see it poured nice, had a good head and it was a pretty refreshing drink.  I was a little disappointed in the color, I was promised blood red, I wanted RED.  🙂  I’m not a connoisseur that can tell you all about its notes, but I’ll try to describe it well.  It was very drinkable, not very hoppy, had a nice malt flavor going on.  I enjoyed it but it wouldn’t be one that I could see myself going back to time and time again.  I’d much prefer just a regular Newcastle.  As far as beers go, I’d give it a 2.5 out of 5.  It was just perfectly middle of the road.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Newcastle Werewolf Ale

  1. How did I knot know that you had given me the credit for your Sunday Dips? These are terrific, and now I have to go a-hunting for beers that you are recommending. Thanks so much!

    1. Not sure how you missed it ;). But yeah you totally were the one that inspired me to do it. Also got me keeping an eye out for the one’s you’ve tried. I find myself seeing them all over the place. Oddly I’ve also become a hop liker, so the beers you like I’m finding myself to gravitate towards. Thanks again.

Comments are closed.