A wonderful Spicy Curried Sweet Potato Soup…

So I was telling you all about my sweet potato soup that I made this weekend.  I’m just really disappointed that I never took a picture.  It would have been great to go with the post.  Anyway the genesis of this soup was that we’ve been getting a lot of sweet potatoes in our CSA and we were struggling with ideas for what to do with them.  So I started doing a bit of research on some soups with sweet potatoes and got a basis and then ran with what I really wanted to do with it.  The soup turned out amazing, its one of the best soups I’ve ever made, heck I even ate it 3 days in a row.  So without further ado, my curried sweet potato, parsnip and apple soup.

Curried Sweet Potato, Parsnip and Apple Soup
2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut to 1″ pieces
1 medium parsnip, peeled and chopped
1 small-medium onion, chopped
1 small-medium honeycrisp apple, chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, diced
1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, chopped
1-2 teaspoons hot curry powder
3 cups water
2 teaspoons better than bouillon vegetable stock
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon earthbalance butter spread
salt and pepper to taste

In a heavy pot, cook the onions with the oil on low for about 5 minutes or until translucent, stirring.  Add 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder and cook for a minute more.  Add the parsnips, apple, chopped rosemary, a pinch each of salt and pepper and continue on low to cook another 5-6 minutes, just until the vegetables are starting to get a little bit of color. Add the sweet potatoes, water and bouillon, and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook for about 30 minutes.  (Truth be told I went out and worked on mowing and bagging leaves, it may have been longer than 30 minutes, all the veggies were tender but not overly so when I got back in.)

Add the milk, earth balanace, the rest of the curry powder  (hold back if concerned about the heat and add in smaller portions) and some salt and pepper.  Use an immersion blender to blend soup into a creamy, almost-smooth consistency. Or, transfer to a food processor and blend in batches. Return to low heat, taste for seasoning, and add more curry and/or salt according to taste.  Keep on low until heated through, I let mine simmer for an hour while I finished the yard work.   Adjust seasoning if desired. Garnish with optional fresh herbs (such as parsley) and serve.

One thought on “A wonderful Spicy Curried Sweet Potato Soup…

Comments are closed.