Book Review: The Kill Order by James Dashner

Its about time I finally got around to putting up my latest book completion.  I’ve only been done since last weekend.  I guess that tells you how busy we’ve been around here.  Onto the book review.

This is the prequel to the Maze Runner series of which I’ve reviewed some on here before.  I was very excited to get this book and learn a little bit more about how Thomas got his start and why the world was the way that it was in the Maze Runner series.  First off I have to say that I should have read the synopsis first because my expectations were way off for the book.  We didn’t really get any insight into Thomas but we did get a pretty good feeling for what had happened to cause the Flare and how the world was left afterwards.  The story was fairly good in regards to how Dashner writes, it flowed well and was another quick read.

The book is focused around Mark for the most part and deals with his experiences both on the day of the Flare and coming to grips with the Flare virus itself.  Mark and his friends have been attacked at the begging of the book and have no idea why.  The rest of the book is centered around them figuring out who attacked them and getting friends back.  Its essentially your classic quest for knowledge book.  The character development is pretty solid with a lot of flashbacks from Mark’s perspective.

The one thing I probably found most disturbing about the book was the prologue.  If someone were to pick this up and think oh, I’ll read the prequel and then start the maze runner series, I think would have the Maze Runner books spoiled for them.  It focuses on Theresa and Thomas’ plans and gives you insight into their mindset.  Having that would ruin some of the back and forth that you experience as a reader in the later books.

All that being said I still thought the book was pretty good, but it’ll end up with a middle of the road review from me.  2.5 out of 5 stars.

Let's hear it!

