Book Review: The Cure by John Lynch, Bruce McNicol and Bill Thrall

Well its been almost a year of hearing our pastor tout The Cure so I finally figured I should get around to reading it.  Its a book that I knew a fair amount about before getting into it because of John Lynch’s Truefaced message that we’d been introduced to years ago.  The basic premise is that as we go through life we really approach life trying to fix our problems in one of two ways through the room of good intentions or through the room of grace.  Clearly the room of grace is the better way to living but its certainly not easy.  The book points you to the need to change your worldview of how we view Jesus.  Given that I did enjoy the book, but I didn’t find it super insightful, a lot of it was stuff that I was familiar to based on the messages we’ve heard at church for quite some time.

I really loved the stories in the book about the two rooms and the path that the main character (John, You, I, whomever puts themselves into the story).  The rest of the book explaining the story I didn’t care for as much.  I wanted more story, more relationship, more life.  But I know we’re meant to go live that out.

I liked the book well enough, I’d give it 3.5 out of 5 stars as better than average, really quick read, but its just not something that I see myself going back to reading again and again.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Cure by John Lynch, Bruce McNicol and Bill Thrall

  1. you are missing the point if you don’t go back and read it again, VERY slowly. after my first read, i felt the same way as this reader did….BUT, after slowing down, taking it in in very thoughtfully….I’m on board totally…..great material which I hope many, many will read and assimilate…

  2. apparently i missed the point as well – I thought 3.5 out of 5 was very generous. The book cover/subtitle was worth the book for me – the rest was not that much fun to read. A lot of what you already hear from pastors/speakers, etc.

  3. My Bible Study of 10 men spent 6 months on this book. I saw strong successful 50-something year old men break down and cry as we read parts of it out loud. In my 10+ years with these 10 men I had never seen that happen to any of them much less to 3 of the ten due to one book. However, at the same time while 1/3 of the men thought it was life-changing, 1/3 of the men wanted us to pick up the pace because “they already knew all of this” and the other 1/3 was somewhere in between. I was one of the life-changers, so I suggest you read it, reread it and read it again and again. For those of you who get little out of it, I make up that either you already know about all this and have changed your life or you are deeply rooted in the Room of Good Intentions.

    1. That’s a real fair review. For me I believe it has a lot to do with this being the message our church sticks to. I feel a big part of the room of grace but certainly spent parts of my life in the good intentions. It’s easy to go back. In the end it matters if you have a personal relationship with Jesus and believe in His grace and life changing abilities. Thanks for the feedback.

Let's hear it!

