Sunday Sips: Summit Octoberfest

This week its my pleasure to be reviewing a beer that probably won’t be around much longer this year.  That is most unfortunate, but we’ll get to that more here in a second.  Its that wonderful time of year where Octoberfest beers are around, but its a short season, only September through October.  It brings about those wonderful malty brews that are oh so smooth going down.

Thursday night we had a date night at The Trumpet Blossom Cafe in Iowa City.  Its my favorite restaurant right now, its totally vegan so we can order anything off the menu and they have this simply amazing bar in the restaurant.  While we were there I struggled (and I do mean struggled) to figure out what beer I wanted to have.  After chatting with the waiter I finally decided on going with the Summit Octoberfest.  Summit is a small scale brewery in St. Paul Minnesota so it may not be available in a large portion of the US.  I had the Octoberfest out of a bottle last year and it was pretty decent, but I wanted to give it a go as a draft.  I’m not sure about the rest of you, but I find draft beer to taste superior to bottled beer.  It came to the table with this wonderful caramel color and the nose was really nice.  (As I’ve said before I’m getting new to this so I don’t really know how to describe the nose to you other than to say that I enjoyed it, not fruity at all though.)
Summit Octoberfest

Its a 6.6% ABV marzen style brew.  Definite caramel malt flavors to start and a nice clean hop finish.  Its certainly on the low end of the hoppy scale though.  I loved it, I’m giving it a 5 out of 5 as its my favorite beer I’ve had in awhile.  I could have just sat there drinking it down.

As a bonus feature today I figured I’d talk about the food a bit too.  We started off with a course of crispy onion rings served with a stone ground mustard.  Delicious, only served Friday-Sunday though.  Then for the main course we split an order of buckwheat corncakes served with a tomato jam, and the special of the day which was a lemon pepper tempeh served over a bed of arugula and roasted carrots, covered with a red pepper sauce.  It was also served with horseradish mashed potatoes and caramelized onions.  One word, AMAZING.

Delicious!
We finished it off with a pumpkin brownie for dessert.  I can only describe it as a brownie covered with pumpkin pie.  Again simply amazing.  We love this place and their fantastic food.

Have a great week all.  (If it weren’t for the fact that I have my physical to see my new numbers tomorrow, I’d be off to enjoy a new brew tonight, I spent much of the day plumbing… YUCK.)

5 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Summit Octoberfest

  1. I’ve had some of Summit’s beers, although not the Oktoberfest. I don’t always love the spice and pumpkin flavors in those beers, but I’ll stroll up to the liquor store before the hurricane hits for real and see what they have.

    Thanks!

    1. Speaking of pumpkin, I’m still looking for the Pumpking, but I found a new one the other day that I’m saving for Thanksgiving. Rogue made a first batch pumpkin this year. I tend to like what they’ve done, so I snatched it up. You’ll be happy to know you expanded my beer searching horizon and I’ve got a couple beers at home more in line with an IPA to try. Hopefully the hurricane doesn’t do what they’re claiming its going to, that sounds like a real nightmare.

      1. Yeah, if you trust the weathermen, then it should pass about 70 miles to the north of us, so we’ll get about 80% of what it can bring. Northern NJ and NYC will get the worst of it. On a way more depressing note, I ran out of beer. . .

      2. That is way more depressing, especially if you’re stuck at home. I guess you’ll just have to find other things to do to pass your time. Take up camping stove cookery from the sounds of it. Raiding the freezers, things of that nature.

      3. Lol! We did alright. Mostly we hung out, relaxed, and waited for the power to go out, which it never did…

        And apparently this is what I’m complaining about now….

Comments are closed.