Sunday Sips: First Growth Pumpkin Patch Ale by Chatoe Rogue

I hope that you all enjoyed Thanksgiving.  Its been a wonderful week and we spent Thanksgiving night celebrating with some friends.  What says Thanksgiving like pumpkin pie right?  So with that in mind I thought we might share some pumpkin beer.  My buddy is always up for trying a beer with me so I grabbed one of these 750 ml bottles of Rogue‘s Pumpkin Patch Ale.
Rogue Pumpkin Beer
First thing, I know I shouldn’t buy a beer for a bottle, but this bottle is super cool.  I loved the orange coloring and its just really a fun bottle to have around, and it was a fun experience to crack into it.  Once we got it open and gave it a pour you can see the wonderful head that was on the beer.  The nose was full of pumpkin pie spices, you know cloves, nutmeg that sort of thing.  The one thing I didn’t really get in the nose was pumpkin.  Perhaps I’m just not that talented with the old sniffer though.  The beer was really full of the spices when it came to the taste as well.  It was smooth, a nice ale, not a lot of hops, not a lot of malt either, just well balanced I thought.  The biggest thing was those spices though, in some ways I found that overpowering, and the pumpkin didn’t shine through in the flavor either.  It grew on me the more I drank it.  Its not one that I would choose to have every day, but it certainly was a nice drink for after dinner and it would go down well with some pie.  I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars.  I call this another win for Rogue’s brewery.  If only the Voodoo doughnut beer was vegan, I’d be all over that.  🙂

Let's hear it!

