What makes it Christmas?

Nick and I were having a conversation the other day about Christmas and traditions. He and I have a lot of really fun and special traditions that definitely make Christmas that much more special and fun. We always “deck the halls” the day after Thanksgiving and listen to Andrew Peterson‘s “Behold the Lamb of God” on Christmas morning before even getting out of bed. It puts us in the right mindset to remember what Christmas is really about. This year we added a new tradition – we now have an Elf on the Shelf! She’s called Anastasia and she’s quite cute. Nick and I have made it a game to take turns placing her in a new and funny location everyday. It’s been a lot of fun so far. I just know that it’s going to get trickier to come up with fun places as it’s not even December yet!

It’s not quite Christmas for me without Christmas music by Mannheim Steamroller. My mom always loved their music and played it all the time when I was growing up. It was a great that we were able to take her and my dad to a show a couple of years back. It was amazing to see them live and it made me feel like a kid again.

What makes it Christmas for you?

