Sunday Sips: Snow Day from New Belgium Brewery

Earlier this summer my team won a best ball golf tournament at work, as part of that we got a gift card to a local watering hole.  We still hadn’t used that, so Jackie and I decided to take her sister to the place and have a drink with some french fries.  (Look I never said vegan meant healthy.)

There were a lot of beer options available and I really wasn’t sure what to get, so I just decided to go with my old standby of New Belgium Brewery and hit up their seasonal.  Their winter seasonal is the Snow Day Ale.

Snow Day
Its a darker ale with a whole lot of hoppiness going on.  Its got some coffee flavors, also has a bit of a carmelness to it from the malts that makes it drinkable, and then the hops hit you.  The only part of the hops that I didn’t much care for in this beer was the grapefruit bitterness that it contributed.  You know how there are different types of bitterness?  Well this one gave me the distinct reminder of grapefruit.  Now, one thing I found a little different in this one was that I enjoyed it more as it warmed up.  Most of the time I like my beer cold, but its nice to have some that just get better as they sit there.  The beer wasn’t overly heavy on the flavors or the alcohol, it weighed in at 6.2% ABV, so its really rather drinkable.  If I was stuck inside on a snow day I wouldn’t turn it down.  All things being equal though it also wouldn’t be the first beer I’d grab for.  I’m going to give it a 3.5 out of 5.

Hope you all have a great day, and I’m looking forward to getting back in the posting a bit more.  I’ve got a 4 book, book review coming up one of these days, and Jackie and I have 3 more days of Chicago food fun to post about, and I’m a bit delinquent in food posts.  (It SUCKS when you don’t get all that wonderful CSA goodness in the winter.)  Food just starts to get kinda boring and ho hum.

