Vegan in the Windy City: day two

Time for day two! Writing these posts makes me miss Chicago. I can’t wait to go back! (you can find day one here)

After discovering Chinatown in the spring, we knew we had to go back and enjoy another meal. There are SO many choices, but we knew we needed to go to Lao Sze Chuan. Nick and quickly discovered on our previous food tour, that Sze Chuan is our Chinese style of choice. We both like the spice that Sze Chuan provides.

We ordered an order of vegetable spring rolls, an order of spicy cabbage…
Spicy cabbage and veggie egg rolls from Lao Sze Chuan

…and Hunan mixed vegetables. The server told us that the Hunan would provide more spice than the Sze Chuan vegetables. She’s wasn’t kidding!
Hunan veggies from Lao Sze Chuan

The spring rolls were tasty, nothing amazing and the Hunan veggies were delicious. My mouth was on fire! But in a good way. However, the true winner of our meal was the spicy cabbage. It’s just cabbage in hot chili oil with red pepper flakes. Sounds so boring and plain but it is AMAZING. I could eat this everyday.

For dinner, we knew we had to hit up the Chicago Diner. And we weren’t disappointed! We don’t usually order appetizers while dining out, but when I saw potato skins (“crispy russet potatoes topped with nacho cheeze, chopped tomatoes, onions and veggie bacün bits) on the menu I KNEW we had to order them. OMG. I could have eaten the whole plate by myself! They were served with a side of ranch, but it was more like dill dip. Which went wonderfully!
Potato Skins from Chicago Diner

And for our main course, we ordered the flautas. “Corn taquitos with mashed potato cheeze jalapeño filling, enchilada sauce, lettuce, tomato, sour cream, black beans & Mexican Rice.” These weren’t something I would have typically ordered, but I allowed Nick to choose the entree. 🙂 I was so happy I did! These were wonderful! Perfectly crispy and with just a hint of spice. We even went all out and added guacamole. Mmmmm!
Flautas from Chicago Diner

And of course, I couldn’t leave without dessert. 😉 We ordered the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough shake. People. IT WAS HEAVEN IN A PLASTIC CUP. I don’t care if it had a gazillion calories. Every drink was worth it. Creamy, smooth, chocolatey and delicious. *sigh* I have dreams about this shake. (and the guy is pretty handsome – I’m glad I get to keep him!)
OMG. Cookie dough shake. And that guy.

I can’t wait to share day three with you. See you soon! I’m going to go and dream of that shake…again…

