Vegan Cranberry Eggnog Cupcakes

I have to be honest, I’m not a huge fan of eggnog, but at Christmas I always want some! I never drink it straight, but I do love a good eggnog french toast! Before becoming a vegan I’d always resort to milk nog – the same flavor as eggnog, but WAY less thick. While Nick and I were in Chicago we snagged a quart of Earth Balance Organic Soy Nog. It’s quite good. And not too thick.

While perusing Pinterest a few weeks ago I came across a recipe for cranberry eggnog cupcakes and after reading the recipe, I thought, “I can veganize these!”. And so I did. 🙂 I’m so excited to share this recipe with you just in time for Christmas!

Cupcakes with buttercream

Vegan Cranberry Eggnog Cupcakes
(adapted from Your Cup of Cake)

Cake:
1 box yellow cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)
1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (already ground works too!)
egg replacer equal to 3 eggs
1/3 cup canola oil
1 cup non-dairy eggnog (I used the aforementioned soy nog)
1/2 cup vegan sour cream (I used Tofutti)
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup fresh cranberries, chopped

Eggnog Buttercream:
1 cup vegan butter (I used earth balance)
1/2 tsp apple cider (the liquid, not the powder)
1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
3 T non-dairy eggnog
3-4 cups powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 and line pans with cupcake liners. Sift cake mix and nutmeg into a large bowl and set aside. In a medium bowl, combine egg replacer, oil, non-diary eggnog, vegan sour cream and a vanilla. Add to dry ingredients and mix until smooth. Fold in cranberries. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and back for 17-20 minutes or until knife comes out clean.

Cooling cupcakes

To make the buttercream beat the vegan butter for 2 minutes. Add cider, nutmeg and eggnog. Add powdered sugar one cup at a time until you’ve reached your desired consistency. Pipe or frost when cupcakes are completely cool.

Makes 24 cupcakes. Although, to be honest, I filled my liners a little bit full and so I only got 18. But if you don’t get crazy when filling your cupcake liners, I’m thinking you’d get 24!

These were really tasty! They were really light, moist and the cranberry offered just enough pop of flavor to counteract the eggnog. I sent them to work with Nick and they got DEMOLISHED. In fact, one of his friends couldn’t believe they were vegan! And my friend B wanted to know how I got such wonderful buttercream without butter. I’d say that they were a success. Vegans and non-vegans alike couldn’t get enough of them!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Vegan Cranberry Eggnog Cupcakes

Let's hear it!

