Vegan “Pizza Hut” Pan Pizza Dough

I don’t know about you, but Nick and I could eat pizza everyday. EVERYDAY. It’s something we always fall back on when nothing else sounds good. We’ve been making our own pizza dough for most of our married life and I’m always up for trying new recipes and finding new tricks to make it even better. I came across a recipe for Pizza Hut Original Pan Pizza on Pinterest. I was intrigued. It seemed pretty straightforward so I decided to give it a go! SO glad I did. This is now my most favorite homemade pizza crust to date. It tastes JUST like the Pizza Hut Pan Pizza that I remember. You won’t regret making this one! It does take a little work and some waiting around, but it’s worth every minute. Trust me!

Pizza!

Vegan “Pizza Hut” Pan Pizza Dough
(adapted from cdktichen)

1 1/3 cup warm water
1/4 cup non-dairy milked powder (I used Better Than Milk Soy Powder)
1/2 tsp kosher salt
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 T evaporated cane juice
2 1/4 tsp dry yeast
2 T olive oil (for the dough)
3 T olive (for the pans)
Cooking spray

Put yeast, sugar, salt and dry non-dairy milk powder in a large bowl. Add water and stir to mix well. Allow to sit for 2 minutes. Add oil and stir again. Add flour and stir until dough forms and flour is absorbed. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 10 minutes.

Pizza Hut style pizza dough

Divide ball into 3 balls (I weighed mine out because I’m like that, but it’s not necessary!). In three 9-inch cake pans, but 1 oz of oil in each making sure it spreads evenly. Using a lightly floured rolling pin, roll out each dough ball to a 9-inch circle. Place in cake pans. Spray the outer edge of dough with cooking spray and cover with a plate. Place in warm area to rise for 1 – 1 1/2 hours. (note: I only wanted to bake one pizza, so I put the other dough in a freezer bag each for later)

Preheat oven to 475. Add sauce and spread within 1 inch of the crust. Top with your favorite toppings and/or seasonings. Bake until the outer crust is brown.

Mmmm. Pizza.

After removing from oven, transfer to a paper towel lined cutting board. (this just helps absorb a little of the oil from the pan) Slice into 4 pieces and dig in!

Vegan Pizza Hut style pizza

This crust is AMAZING. I want to eat it everyday. Also, I have made pizza from one of the frozen dough balls. I placed it in the refrigerator the day before and then let it come to room temperature the day I wanted to bake it. It didn’t want to roll out as well and I was a little worried, but after placing it in the pan and letting it rise, all was well!

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Vegan “Pizza Hut” Pan Pizza Dough

    1. I had to google it, because I didn’t know! The biggest consensus I found was to use (non-dairy for vegan) milk in place of the water in the recipe and just leave the milk powder out. Let me know how it works for you!

Let's hear it!

