Sunday Sips: Goose Island Christmas Ale

I love the Christmas season.  Its a great time for remembering the fact that Jesus came to the world to be a savior for ALL mankind.  I don’t care what everyone’s views are but He came for each and every one of us.  It also is a great time of year to spend some more time with friends and family and share in some good brews.

Well being the Christmas season I figured I had to try and sample at least one Christmas Ale.  This year we’ve got Goose Island’s Christmas Ale.  This one is a traditional brown ale for that holiday season.  This one is meant to warm, it weighs in with 7.3% ABV, which will get those warm feelings going without smacking you straight over the head.  This beer is a light caramel chocolate color.  Its your typical brown ale.
Christmas Ale

If I’m going to have a brown ale, I’d much rather go with a new castle which has more of a nuttyness and bite to it.  I just wasn’t really impressed with this beer.  It was just par for the course on nose and taste.  It goes down easy and I wouldn’t pass it up for a macrobrew, but it just didn’t do it for me.  I’d give it a 2 out of 5.  Hope you all are enjoying the season, more posts to come as we enjoy the break.  🙂

One thought on “Sunday Sips: Goose Island Christmas Ale

  1. See, I don’t love brown ales in general, but New Castle has always been a really good session ale for me. I can drink a few and not worry about feeling weighed down or getting too sloppy. I’ve had some other Snow Goose beers before, but not for a long time. I’ll have to keep my eyes open, but I’ll remember to not make eye-contact with this one.

    Thanks!

Let's hear it!

