Happy 2013 – Best of 2012 edition

As we ring in the new year, I thought it would be good to go over all the goodness that has happened over the past year. I’m not a big person to have resolutions for a new year, because I find resolutions just tend to set people up for failure. It gets people in the wrong mindset, and we don’t feel like we make progress. I know that November and Thanksgiving are the time when people give thanks, but I’d like to think that the New Year is the best time to reflect and be thankful about the past year, that way we can look forward to whatever this next year will bring. Perhaps do a small sampling of our best of’s/favorites from this past year.

As everyone is celebrating, I figure its best to start out with my favorite libation of the year. In the past year I’m going with the Double Wide IPA by Boulevard Brewery. I could drink that beer all the time. If you’d like to get the full review check out my Sunday Sip reviewing it earlier this year.
Double Wide IPA
My Favorite moment:
I could easily just say any of the time that I’ve had being able to spend with Jacks, but I figure I’ve got to be more specific. Besides its not always rosy with us, I swear. πŸ™‚ We had a really wonderful trip to Minneapolis, that I think my favorite memory was walking out of Target Field and heading downtown, being able to walk into a bar that served all sorts of vegan food, and not having to worry at all about what we ordered. We were just accepted, we were able to enjoy a really great snack/lunch, and laugh and be excited about the beautiful day in a beautiful city.

In a really close second, I think the two of us also greatly enjoyed getting to go see & hear Andrew Peterson’s Behold the Lamb of God Tour again. The musicians are so talented and I so love the way that the Christmas Story is told. Jackie thought the night was made even better by finding Mountain Dew in a bottle with real sugar that night. Let me tell you all, it was good times to be had by all.

My Favorite movie:
This one is pretty easy for me, it was The Avengers. I thought it had it all, good character development, lots of action and lots of humor.
Avengers

My Favorite book:
Its pretty hard for me to pick a favorite from this past year. I’ve read a lot of good books, but when it comes down to picking one that I think is lasting and that I want to go back and pick up again and again its so much more difficult. Right now, having to pick for doing this post, I would go with “The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan”. You can check out my past review here.

Best Choice made:
Jacks and I decided to become vegan on May 6th, the day that we watched Forks over Knives. Its been a crazy whirlwind ride since, but its been great. I know that both of our bodies have thanked us for making the change and its definitely better for the environment. It does make some things like going out to eat with our foodie friends a bit more difficult being here in Iowa, but it also has created lots of memories, and hopefully at some point it gets others to start making some changes as well.

My favorite new food:
Cheeseless pizza… Seriously, who knew it could be so delicious sans cheese. You get so much more flavor out of the crust and the toppings with the lack of the cheese. I love it. I could eat it every day.
Mmmm. Pizza.
I’m sure I could come up with a whole slew of other categories to rate and give my best thoughts on, but I figure we can always come back to those some other day. I hope that this year ends up being another year of things to be thankful for, a year where we can all continue to grow in being better people, and perhaps I’ll be blessed to help influence and see some changes in other peoples lives for the better. I will make one promise as well, and that promise is that I’m going to try to be more focused in getting some additional recipes up here.

Happy New Year.

2 thoughts on “Happy 2013 – Best of 2012 edition

    1. Eh, vegan cheese isn’t cheating, We’ve just got to the point where we don’t miss it at all. Keep on enjoying those pies the way you’re doing it. πŸ™‚

Let's hear it!

