Sunday Sips: Stagger Lee by Crispin Cider

This week I was having a hard time figuring out what to sample.  I’ve got some good options coming up here for the next couple of weeks, but I just haven’t really been in a drinking mood much lately.  Today though I was trying out a new recipe for Smoky Ribz and a baked sweet potato and figured I had a good option to go with that pairing and boy did I find a good one.  Jackie isn’t a drinker at all, but she has found that she really enjoys certain hard ciders.  Her favorite and mine, by far, is made by Crispin Cider out of Minnesota.  Its hard to find a more refreshing crisp drink.  Recently we’ve been able to find a lot of their limited release ciders around here in Iowa and we got the Stagger Lee.  Its a triple blended cider that is aged in a Rye Whiskey cask.

Crispin Rye Whiskey
As you can see from the picture, the cider pours out with a good bit of sedimentation. Its not a clean filtered cider but its still really smooth and enjoyable. It has a good crisp bite that you’d expect from a cider with the sweetness of the apples, but not overly so. It’s also got a bit of a earthy woodsy flavor that it inherited while aging in the cask. It makes for a nice complex flavor that would still be able to be enjoyed over multiple bottles. Additionally its not overly strong coming in at 6.9% ABV. As I was saying earlier this went incredibly well with the bbq flavors and particularly the sweet potato.

I enjoyed this one a lot, I still prefer the blue label standard Crispin, but I’d happily take this one as well. I give this a 4 out of 5.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Stagger Lee by Crispin Cider

  1. I really enjoy Crispin ciders, and I’m not a huge cider fan. If I have to drink one, I won’t argue, and while I haven’t seen the Stagger Lee, I also haven’t been looking for it. I’ll keep my eyes open. . .

  2. I really enjoy Crispin ciders, and I’m not a huge cider fan. If I have to drink one, I won’t argue, and while I haven’t seen the Stagger Lee, I also haven’t been looking for it. I’ll keep my eyes open. . .

Let's hear it!

