Sunday Sips: Cali-Belgique IPA by Stone Brewing

Its superbowl Sunday and that means its just another great reason to have a Sunday Sips post.  Boy do we have a lot of good food in the works to go with a good beer.  We’ve got some granny smith guacamole, we’re making some jalapeno popper potato skins, chips and salsa, veggies and hummus and whatever else we figure to throw on the table to enjoy while watching the game.  I don’t know about everyone else, but I usually like the commercials and the game equally.  This year I don’t have a dog in the race, I’m just hoping that its a good game and comes down to the last possession.   Alright, enough talking about the food, lets talk about the beer.  🙂

Today we’re talking about the Cali-Belgique IPA by Stone Brewing.  Earlier this year, I reviewed the Arrogant Bastard Ale by Stone.  Another great beer, if you’re curious check that review out as well.  This one got me going just with the name… An IPA with a Belgium twist, yes please.  I was at a friends house and willing to share my find, so needless to say I didn’t have my beer snob glass.  I went with a plain old pint glass.  It poured really nice with a great full head.  This head had staying power too, unlike some other beers.  I was really rather impressed especially with the glass.  The color was that of a golden wheat almost, more reminiscent of the Belgium brew, the nose however was all IPA.  Nice and citrusy giving that good hops vibe.
Untitled

Talk about a flavorful beer. I don’t know why someone hadn’t thought of going with a brew like this much earlier. The citrus flavor that seems so natural with an IPA, really complimented the yeasty flavor that I got from the Belgium ale techniques and it was smooth and oh so drinkable. If someone put a six pack of these in front of me, I’d have no problem drinking them all.  It wouldn’t be the worst thing there, this one isn’t overly heavy at 6.9% ABV.  If you haven’t figured it out by now, I loved this beer.  5 out of 5 for me.  If I see more, I’m definitely picking up more.

Hope you all have a great day and get to enjoy the game.

