Vegan Banana Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

Nick and I had a dinner guest last week and we were thinking, and thinking, and thinking about what to serve for dessert. Nothing was sounding quite right. I remembered that I had a bag of frozen bananas in the freezer and my mind immediately went to banana bars! I haven’t had a banana bar in FOREVER, especially one of the vegan variety. I found a traditional recipe online and veganized it myself. I have to say, I’m pretty awesome. These are knock-your-socks-off delicious. Make these. Seriously.

Vegan Banana Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting
(recipe adapted)
Bars:
1 stick earth balance, softened
1 1/2 cups evaporated cane juice
Egg replacer equal to 2 eggs
8 ounces vegan sour cream (I used Tofutti)
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
2 medium ripe bananas, mashed

Cream Cheese Frosting:
8 ounces vegan cream cheese, softened (I used Tofutti)
1 stick earth balance, softened
3 tsp vanilla extract
3 cups powdered sugar (more or less depending on your desired consistency)

Preheat oven to 350 and lightly grease a 15x10x1-inch baking pan. Cream together earth balance and sugar with a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until light and fluffy. Add egg replacer, vegan sour cream and vanilla. Mix well to combine. Add flour, baking soda and salt gradually to creamed mixture. Stir in bananas. Spread into prepared pan and bake for 20 minutes. (or until a toothpick in the center comes out clean – do not overbake)
Ready for the oven

Cool completely.
Cool down

To make the frosting, combine earth balance, vegan cream cheese and vanilla together until fluffy. Gradually add in powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency. Frost with an offset spatula.
Mmmm. Frosted delicousness.

Refrigerate and serve! Enjoy!!
Untitled

2 thoughts on “Vegan Banana Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Oh YUM!! This looks really really great! I must try it!! I have a quick question, what brand of soy cream cheese do you use? I have only bought one brand so far (new vegan) and it was HORRID! >_< Any suggestions would be great! I will for sure be making this!

    1. Sure! I should make sure I edit that in! Great question! I used Tofutti for this recipe. I’ve also tried a cream cheese from Vegan Gourmet that was great, but I never got the chance to bake with it. It went directly on my bagels! 🙂 Tofutti works great and tastes good, too! You’ll have to let me know how they turn out.

Comments are closed.