Sunday Sips: Schlafly Irish-Style Extra Stout

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all of you. What could be more appropriate than starting off the day with a review of an Irish beer. 🙂 I hate to tell you all this, but there is no way that this beer is going to be colored green.

This week I’m reviewing the Schlafly Irish-Style Extra Stout. This is a special release that goes from January through March from Schlafly Brewery. For those of you not familiar with the brewery, they are a smaller scale brewer out of St. Louis. They like to go toe to toe with the man (Anheuser Busch) there in St. Louis and in my book they come out ahead every time. When we were in St. Louis last month I got to sample a whole lot of their beers and I was really happy with all of them. Some weren’t my favorite but I could tell that a lot of care went into the beers.

Schafly Irish stout

Fortunately for me, here in Iowa they sell the beers at most places. I picked this one up at dinner the other night. It seemed fitting being St. Patrick’s Day weekend and I was eating a reuben.

The first thing that got me was the bottle. I loved the artwork and the Irish Proverb was wonderful. “A narrow neck keeps the bottle from being emptied in one drink.” Then I went to do the pour. What a wonderfully smooth pour in such a rich chocolate color. And it had a good inch of head on it as well that had some staying power. The nose was of roasted grains, and I couldn’t wait to taste it. (Confession time, I know you’ve seen me doing a lot of IPAs and ales on here, but truth be told my original beer love was dark stouts. Guiness and Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout were my favorite beers for a long long time.) This was such a wonderfully balanced beer on the palate. It had the roasted barley taste going for it, and it had a nice mocha hint to it. I was really getting strong hints of coffee, but in a good way. And they put enough hops in it to balance that all such that I wasn’t left with one note. As for alcohol content, you could see some lacing on the glass and it was fairly strong at 8.0% ABV. It was a really good beer and unfortunately the review comes just as it will be leaving the shelves. I’d rate this beer a 4.5 out of 5, it was way better than Guiness so I’m glad I’ve branched out.

Have a great day everyone, enjoy being green today, just keep that green coloring away from your beer. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Schlafly Irish-Style Extra Stout

  1. As usual, you have some damn good taste in beer, sir. If darks are your thing, see if you can find Young’s Double Chocolate Stout. It was the first time I’d ever had one that knocked my socks off, and I still remember how good it was.

    Sláinte!

Comments are closed.