Sunday Sips: Pseudo Sue by Toppling Goliath

Well its another great Sunday which means that hopefully its time for another great beer right?  I know not everything I ever try is going to be a winner.  In fact I’ve struck out my fair share of times, but this week I’m happy to tell you that I won.  I won because I had a great beer to share with you all.  We all kind of lose though because I found out that currently the beer can only be found on tap and its only in the areas around Iowa.  So why do I share it with you, well because great beer simply must be shared.  You never know when you may be in my neck of the woods.

This week’s beer comes from Toppling Goliath Brewery.  This is a little micro brewery from Decorah Iowa.  I found the beer on tap at The Trumpet Blossom Cafe in Iowa City.  Which I’ve told you before and I’ll say it again is a FANTASTIC restaurant.  We sampled vegan sloppy joes, lentil soup, veggie burger and wonderful french fries.  Great night to try a new beer.

I saw the pull for TG and asked my server what it was, he started telling me it was a local pale ale and I stopped him there and said hook me up with that.  This is what I was brought.

Toppling Goliath

I know I’m a snob, so I’m over the whole glass thing, but still I would have liked a better glass.  But the beer came out this wonderful golden color that I’m not really used to out of a pale ale.  The head was nice and bright and stuck around as I started to drink it.  The nose was grapefruit and some other citrusy scents, with just a bit of woodsyness to it.  As for the taste it had a great mouth feel, it rolled around and danced on the tongue, night and smooth, and it tasted of the grapefruit with a nice bite of bitter hops at the end.  I supremely enjoyed this one.  I would have drank more if I wasn’t going anywhere after.  It was ony 5.8% ABV so its got some punch, but not so much that you couldn’t make this a good sessionable beer.  Aren’t we all so glad that its becoming spring and these beers are there for us to drink.  I’d give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars.  I’m not sure what I would have changed so much, but I’m trying to reserve my 5 stars for things that really blow me away.

Jackie and I are going to plan a trip up to their tap room some day this summer.  I can’t wait.  If you’re in Iowa, please give one of their brews a go.

Happy Sunday everyone.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Pseudo Sue by Toppling Goliath

    1. I feel the same way about your beers. But perhaps that’s part of what makes America so great!

Comments are closed.