Banana Chocolate Muffins (vegan and gluten free)

Nick had to go into work on Saturday morning to get some extra work done. He wanted to do something nice for his employees, so he decided he’d stop by Starbucks on his way to pick up a coffee traveler. Food is always a good motivator, and I so I offered to make some muffins. Of course I wanted to make a ton of different kinds, but I had to get serious. I quickly realized that I had a few very ripe bananas on the counter, so I immediately thought of Banana Chocolate muffins. And so I made them. And they were great. I made them vegan the first time and then made another batch the next morning gluten free. (I was getting together with Lil Sis, so why not?) The best part? They are a cinch to throw together. One bowl and you’re done. What’s easier than that?

Banana Chocolate Muffins
recipe adapted from Eat Live Run
2 very ripe bananas, mashed
4 T earth balance, melted
3/4 cup evaporated cane juice
egg replacer equal to one egg
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour (sub gluten free of choice – I used Better Batter)
3/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare muffin tin by spraying with nonstick spray, or line with liners. In a medium bowl, mash the banana. Add the melted earth balance and sugar and mix well. Stir in egg replacer and mix well. Add vanilla, kosher salt, baking soda and flour. Mix until just combined. You don’t want to overmix. Fold in chocolate chips. Fill muffin tins (you should get 12) and bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Transfer to a cooling rack and dig in!

Gluten free goodness:
gluten free banana chocolate muffins

And vegan deliciousness:
banana chocolate muffins

Enjoy!

