I finally had the moment of being a “hippie” vegan… Overnight Steel Cut Oats

So last night I was bumming around the house waiting for Jacks to get home I was trying to figure out what to do for breakfast today.  I’ve been on a kick lately of swapping between peanut butter and jelly on toast or some granola with rice milk.  Pretty boring really.  Well last night while waiting around I thought to myself what happened to the days when I would eat oatmeal darn near every morning.  I’ll tell you what happened, I got ridiculously busy at work and started going in even earlier than normal.  Most days I leave for work at 6 AM and don’t head home until sometime after 5 PM.  All this thinking about work and being ready to go in the morning along with thoughts of oatmeal made me think about all the instagram or pintrest pictures I’ve seen of overnight oats.  I decided to make my own overnight oat concoction based on the ideas presented…. Here’s the SUPER easy recipe.  (Next time I’ll snap a picture, this is what I get for not thinking about it in the morning. )

Overnight Steel Cut Oats:

1/3 C. Steel Cut Oats
2 T. Chia Seeds
1 C. Almond Milk
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
1/8 C. Freeze Dried Raspberries

Put all ingredients in a container with a lid, cover, shake vigorously to combine, pop into the fridge overnight. When you get up top with a
Drizzle of Maple Agave Syrup and enjoy. You could really top it with whatever you’d like, some crunchy granola, a handful of nuts, or some nut butter of your choice, but I thought it was great as is.

I really wish I had a picture for you all, it really was a great breakfast. I’m on board with the overnight oats kick, perhaps I’m becoming more of a vegan hippie after all. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I finally had the moment of being a “hippie” vegan… Overnight Steel Cut Oats

    1. Can you have gluten free oats? You could substitute them here. Or maybe quinoa? I’m not sure how that would change the texture, but it’s worth a shot, I suppose! Nick really liked these. Let us know if you try something else!

Let's hear it!

