Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies (vegan)

I love cookies. Well, if I’m really being honest, I love cookie dough. Vegan cookie dough is the best! You can nosh with abandon! Not having to worry about salmonella is definitely a plus in my book. But last week while out for coffee with Mel, I spotted an Oatmeal Cranberry Cookie at Starbucks and couldn’t get the idea out of my mind. I knew had to make some. And pronto. I whipped up a batch, and oh baby. These are good. The dough itself is transcendent, and the cookies stack up, too. I added some bittersweet chocolate pieces, but you certainly wouldn’t have to. But it’s chocolate! Why not, I say! I weighed the dry ingredients for this one. They were offered in the recipe, and I thought that would be the most accurate way to get the recipe right. Any kind of kitchen scale will do. Also, I used a medium cookie scoop, and got about 28 cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Bittersweet Chocolate

Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies
(recipe adapted from Sticky Fingers Sweets)
1 stick earth balance, softened to room temperature
2.8 ounces evaporated cane juice
5.3 ounces brown sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/4 canola oil
8 ounces all purpose flour
2 ounces whole wheat pastry flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
3.5 ounces rolled oats (not instant)
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 bittersweet chocolate morsels

Preheat oven to 350 and line baking sheet with parchment paper. In a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together earth balance, evaporated cane juice, brown sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. In measuring cup, whisk together canola oil and almond milk. Slowly add to the sugar mixture and mix well to combine. In a medium bowl, combine all purpose flour, whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, baking soda and kosher salt. Add the oats, dried cranberries and chocolate (if using). Add to the wet ingredients and mix until a dough forms. Scoop onto prepared baking sheet, and press down slightly. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the edges just start to brown. Let cool on baking pan for about 10 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with Bittersweet Chocolate

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cranberry Cookies (vegan)

  1. I have rolled oats and I have cranberries, but I’ve no idea how much a ‘stick’ of Earth Balance weighs (I just use a generic dairy-free margarine)? Also, from what I gather ‘evaporated cane juice’ is granulated like regular sugar so I could just up the sugar, yes? These do sound nice btw!

    1. Great questions! A stick of earth balance is the same as 1/2 cup, 8 tablespoons, or 4 ounces. And just substitute the same amount of white sugar and you’ll be fine.

      I hope you like them!

      1. Vegan baking success! B/f’s munching on them with his coffee right now, he’s had SIX already and they’ve only just come out of the oven 😀 Verdict “Very moreish” and “Like ‘Jammy Dodgers’ but natural ones”
        I did a few minor subs: generic dairy-free margarine instead of EB, Demarara sugar instead of the cane juice & brown sugar. Wholemeal flour instead of white, and a half a cup of flaked almonds instead of choccy bits. This is the first time I’ve bought and baked with dried cranberries and they’re lovely, I’ll definitely be making these again, next time I’ll double the amount of cranberries. Thanks for your help, great recipe! x

      2. We’re so glad that you liked them and that the recipe worked as a spring board for changes that you could incorporate. I really like the idea of adding almonds, I believe that flavor would play off the cranberries exceptionally well. (I think I ate more dough than your BF has eaten the cookies, so next time you should let him hit that up as well. 😉 )

Comments are closed.