Sunday Sips: New Albion Ale by New Albion Brewing Company AKA Samuel Adams Brewing Company

Hello all, sorry that I didn’t get this up here earlier today.  Its been a busy day, that’s saying the least.  We started the day off with church like normal, but then when we got home I had to go into full tilt kitchen mode to get a salad made up for a birthday get together.  We went off to that and then immediately had to head back to church for the congregational meeting.  I’m a deacon now, of middle adults, never mind that I’m not a middle adult yet.  🙂  We’ll see where God takes me on that journey.  Anyway that brings us to now.  I’m finally home for the night and decided to kick back with a brew.
New Albion Ale

I picked this one up at our Hy-Vee just because the bottle intrigued me.  Its a New Albion Ale by New Albion Brewing Company… Well that is until I did a little digging and found out it was Sam Adams.  Who knew?  The funny thing about that, is it certainly has a flavor profile that I was trying to figure out and after tasting it, the malt was definitely reminiscent of Sam Adams.  The story is that New Albion Brewing Company was one of the first microbreweries but went defunct.  This beer hasn’t been produced in 30 years but Sam Adams picked up the recipe and brewed it as part of the great American beer festival.

As you can see from the picture, the beer pours incredibly clear.  There is nary a particulate to be found.  Its a wonderful golden amber color.  The head was brilliant white and was gone nearly before we even took the picture.  The nose somewhat reminded me of Budwiser lime to be honest.  It was kind of grassy but with a hint of citrus, and some breadiness mixed in.  As for the taste, its a well rounded beer, but the malts as I said earlier are classic Sam Adams.  I have to believe that wouldn’t have been the flavor of the original.  I could have gone for more hops, but it wasn’t a bad thing.  It just didn’t sing to me is all.  Entirely drinkable, but also entirely forgettable.  It sits at 6.0% ABV, so its not overly heavy and would do for drinking at a ball game or something like that.  I’d give it 2.5 stars out of 5.  Right smack in the middle.

I so wanted this one to rate higher but it just didn’t do it for me.  Hopefully next week I’ll be bringing you all a home run.  In the mean time, have a great week.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: New Albion Ale by New Albion Brewing Company AKA Samuel Adams Brewing Company

  1. Looks eerily clear to me, like they clarified it or used too much water or something. . . I used to love Sam Adams, but at some pint in the past years it just, I don’t know, became too commercial, and I can’t like it much anymore.

    Too bad, their beers use dto be good. . .

    1. I’m completely with you. The Octoberfest was my favorite, but it seems to have gone downhill. I tend to like the smaller breweries better.

Comments are closed.