Sunday Sips: Stone IPA

So let me say, better late than never, right?  Right.  Happy Cinco De Mayo.  Today has been a crazy nuts day.  I wasn’t even sure that I was going to be able to get a new brew in to review.  Well I have the Trumpet Blossom serving up some great brews on tap to save me today.  So anyway, why was today crazy you ask?  Well let me tell you, early start to the day, we went to church, came home, my parents dropped by for the day, we went to the Trumpet Blossom for brunch, we came home, played some cards, went for a walk, went back to church to practice for our Acts of Worship Night, came home, mowed the yard, went for our run, made some nachos and now we’re finally settling down for the night.  NUTS!  Totally a God thing that we were able to get all the stuff we needed done though.  But hey you didn’t come here to listen to me ramble, you came here for beer.  🙂

So this week we have the Stone IPA.  I know I’ve done Stone many times before (they do have great beer), but I wasn’t feeling just a normal ale today.  It was super nice outside, bright and sunny and I wanted crisp summer time in a glass so I went with the only new IPA I saw.

 
Stone IPA

This didn’t disappoint at all. The nose was crisp with a heightened sense of citrus. The head was a nice creamy color and created a lot of lacing on the glass. The color was a beautiful amber. Lets get to drinking it… Wow, totally hop forward but in a good almost orange type way, with enough malt to just balance the flavor perfectly. A great summertime ale. It could easily get me in trouble as it weighs in at 6.9% ABV. All that to say I Loved it. I’m giving it 4 out of 5 stars, just because it wasn’t as good as the Toppling Goliath that they have there, so I was stuck doing comparisons.

Have a great week everyone, next week I’ll need a drink by Sunday afternoon. We’ll be celebrating Acts of Worship night being done and toasting the Virtual Vegan Potluck. WOOHOO.

Let's hear it!

