Lime Fiesta Salsa

On Monday we had a salsa contest at work within my department to celebrate Cinco De Mayo and one of my peer’s birthday.  So I needed a salsa that I knew was going to compete and well lets face it, I just wanted it to be delicious.  I’d been thinking about salsas from some of my favorite Mexican restaurants so I decided to try to recreate one of them at home.  The flavors of that salsa just tend to dance on the tongue and the key to me has always been the lime that is in there.  So I set about to make it, I tried one the week before and it was close, but just too much onion potency, so I made a tweak to how I prepared the onion.  It turned out AWESOME!  I didn’t win (I was the first loser), but its quite alright, because I’ve now got a go to salsa for years to come.  I’m going to be far less tempted to buy prepackaged stuff from now on.  With that, I bring you the recipe for my Lime Fiesta Salsa.
Lime Fiesta Salsa

Ingredients:
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 14.5 ounce can Organic Diced Fire Roasted Tomatoes (I used Muir Glen)
1 jalapeno pepper coarsely chopped
1 Tablespoon Cholula Hot Sauce
1/4 tsp black pepper
Juice of 1 lime
handful of cilantro
1/2 cup white onion, diced small (about 1/3 medium white onion)

Take the cloves of garlic and the salt and pulse it in a food processor until minced. Add tomatoes and pulse until the consistency of crushed tomatoes (you could probably start with those and skip this step if you prefer.) Add the Jalapeno and pulse until the pepper is in a small dice, add hot sauce, black pepper, lime juice and cilantro and pulse a few times until all combined. Pour into a container and mix the onion in by hand. Grab your favorite chip and enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Lime Fiesta Salsa

Comments are closed.