Sunday Sips: Today a Twofer in honor of a fantastic VVP

Hey everyone, after all the deliciousness that was the Virtual Vegan Potluck,  (Check out our post from yesterday and all the great food through the main site here) I needed to kick back and enjoy a brew, or two.  Given that we had our Acts of Worship night and have been crazy go go go all week, I thought I’d celebrate and try a few brews.  Sadly the places that we went out with friends really didn’t have much in the way of new brews.  But I managed to find two.  The first I bring to you from Goose Island Brewery.  They’re in Chicago Illinois and I really have always wanted to love them because of how much I love the city, but visiting their location really turned me off.  That being said I needed to give the brew a chance.  😉  What I tried from them was their Goose Island IPA.
Sunday sips brews

Not much head on this beer, and the nose was kind of flat. This could be attributable to the keg it came from, or it could just be the beer. In any case it came out really clear, a light amber color (don’t let the darkness of the picture fool you), it really didn’t have any head. As far as taste is concerned, it was pretty average. The hops weren’t all that complex and frankly didn’t really give me that nice crisp bite. If you can’t tell as of yet, I’m pretty unenthused about the beer. It weighs in a 5.9% ABV, so its not overly heavy or overly light, so you could enjoy a few if you so desired. As for me, I give this a 2 out of 5. It just didn’t do it for me, and frankly it probably ends my attempts at trying to like Goose Island as a whole.

The second beer I bring you is the Samuel Adams Alpine spring.
Sunday sips brews

The first thing I noticed about this was how unfiltered it was. I like a good Belgian beer so I figured we would be off to a good start. The head on it was a nice creamy color and it was a nice golden brew with all those particulates floating around. The nose, as I would expect with Sam Adams, was all malty, there was perhaps a hint of citrus in there, but not a whole lot. It goes down really easy, but the taste is really all one note. MALT. Sam Adams, why must you do this to us, you can add some hops and other flavors in there. This had so much promise. If they would have just packed a bit more hops in there to balance out the flavors and make it more crisp like spring should be I would have really enjoyed this. It’s only 5.5% ABV so its easily a sessionable beer. I’d give it 2.5 out of 5. If I added an orange like a blue moon or something like that it probably would have picked it up for me a bit, but still, the only beer that should require an additive is Corona, because what’s Corona without a lime?

Anyway, sorry that neither brew was really a hit, but its still fun trying them and letting you all know where I think they rate. What’s the best brew you’ve had recently?

One thought on “Sunday Sips: Today a Twofer in honor of a fantastic VVP

  1. I remember getting a sixtel of Goose island Snow Goose when we were in college. The girls hated it, and referred to it as “Goose $#**” from then on. I still wanted to like it, but I’ve had a similar experience with them, I want to like them, but just can’t bring myself to appreciate them at better than a 2/5 or so. . .

    As for Sam Adams, you’re exactly right, and I couldn’t have said it better myself. . . so i won’t try.

Let's hear it!

