Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan & gluten free)

I’ve been so busy that I haven’t been able to bake very much as of late. I KNOW, RIGHT?! But! I had a few spare hours on Thursday and decided to bake some cookies. I had a ripe avocado on hand and so I decided to make some avocado chocolate chip cookies. I know, it sounds weird. I was skeptical, too. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE avocados – but I wasn’t sure about them in a cookie. I mean, avocados and sugar? That just sounds gross. But these cookies rock. They’re super chocolately, rich, fluffy and no where near dry and crumbly (my pet peeve with chocolate chip cookies). SUPER good. And even the dough is tasty! Bonus.

Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan and gluten free)

Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies
(recipe adapted via Eat, Live, Run)
1 avocado, ripened
1 stick (8 T) Earth Balance, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups light brown sugar, lightly packed
egg replacer equal to 2 eggs (I used Ener-G)
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose gluten free flour (I used Trader Joe’s blend)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 cups gluten free rolled oats
1 3/4 cups vegan chocolate chips

Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the avocado flesh, stick of Earth Balance and brown sugar. Cream until light and fluffy. Add the egg replacer, mix, and add the vanilla. Mix until well combined. Add the flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder and mix to combine. Add chocolate chips and oats. Mix, but be careful not to overmix. Place dough in the refrigerator for 1 hour to chill. Preheat oven to 325 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment or silpat. After the dough has chilled, scoop dough onto prepared baking sheet. Press dough slightly. Bake for 15 minutes. Let cool on baking sheet for 3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. (if you can wait that long!)

Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan and gluten free)

(This recipe made 3 1/2 dozen cookies for me.)

Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan and gluten free)

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Avocado Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan & gluten free)

  1. I think avocado cookies sound crazy good so I’m bookmarking this! Also, can we talk about the dachshund print in the last picture? What is it, where did you get it and omg I love it.

    1. Haha! It’s actually a dish towel from anthropologie. So cute, right?!

      And I hope you try the cookies. They are so good!!

  2. I made (ok, the Blonde made) a raw avocado chocolate mousse. It was awesome, and these cookies look similarly good. I cant wait to convince my bride to make them!

Comments are closed.