Sunday Sips: Hoppy Boy by Twisted Pine Brewery

Thanks for joining me again this week to all you regulars who like to catch up on random beers.  For everyone else I’m glad you stumbled in, I hope you enjoy the tour and feel free to stick around for awhile and check out the other things we’ve got to offer around here as well.  🙂

Yesterday was quite the day, a good old 85 degree day and who knows what really got into me, but Jackie and I got up and went on a run, and then all the sudden I went crazy with yard work.  I’m talking doing everything, I weeded the flower beds, bought new mulch, bought some new annuals to put in the beds, mowed the lawn and even busted out the weed whacker.  Needless to say I got inside for lunch during the middle of this and I wanted a nice cold beverage.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but some days when I feel like a beer, I really want to go old school and drink it out of a can.  (If you are new to reading my Sunday Sips, I’ve kind of become a beer snob and really like to have the perfect glass for each brew.)  So I was really excited to try this Hoppy Boy by Twisted Pine Brewery out of Boulder Colorado.  This thing is a tall boy for goodness sakes, how awesome is that.
Hoppy Boy

So obviously I don’t really have any comments on the head, or the lacing this time. I did pour a smidge into a glass just to get the color. It was a deeper amber color that was really pleasant to the eye. This is an IPA, full of hops, 3 types to be exact which was pretty great in that the complexities of each one came out. It was smooth at first, with that hint of citrus, more like an orange than a grapefruit, then I got hit with what I’d probably say was a hint of pine, and finally it ended with a somewhat bitter finish, but not in a bad way. it really was a rather well rounded beer. It was easily drinkable, it was cool to have it from a can, and I would find it perfect to take to the beach or for a picnic on a warm summer day.  It was a nice medium level of alcohol at 6.2%.  All in all I’d give it a solid 3.5 out of 5.  It wasn’t something that I’m dying to get all the time, but I really quite enjoyed it.

By the way, if you decided to stick around and check out some other stuff on the blog, definitely check out our Virtual Vegan Potluck post from last week.  Then check out all the other wonderful items the potluck had to offer and vote for your favorites.  I’d love it if you thought our dessert was the best and voted for us, but there were so many great items that I’d just love you to give all the bloggers some love.  Have a great week everyone.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Hoppy Boy by Twisted Pine Brewery

  1. Ahhh, the tall boy. there’s a time and a place for everything, and some beers are just meant to be drunk, and not have their every flavor dissected. I still love a Corona with lime when the temperature gets way up there.

Let's hear it!

