Southwestern Quinoa Bake (vegan & gluten free)

I love baking. LOVE IT. If someone would pay me to do it for fun (and do all of my dishes), that would be awesome! Dream job! I love making delicious things to share with friends and family. However, from time to time, I like to cook. Nick does 99% of the cooking in our house. (am I a lucky girl or what?!) He’s better at it than me, and he loves it. It’s his thing. Baking is my thing. Well, except for some sweet breads and cheesecakes. I haven’t quite mastered those yet. Nick is a pro at both. Let’s face it. Nick’s a pro. 😀 That being said, I found some inspiration over the weekend and made this tasty dish. It’s bursting with fresh flavor, it’s healthy and it just tastes darn good. We’re trying to use quinoa more often and this is a great way to incorporate it. I hope you give this one a try! I did good, if I do say so myself! This is one of those dishes where you’re pretty free to play around and add whatever you’ve got on hand.

Southwestern Qunioa Bake

Southwestern Quinoa Bake
1/2 cup dry quinoa (see instructions below)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 yellow onion, minced
1 red bell pepper, diced (or combination of colors, as I did)
2 serrano peppers, diced (optional, but we like it spicy!)
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 cans black beans
1/2 cup frozen (or fresh!) corn
vegan cheese (optional, I used Teese Nacho Cheese)
sliced green onion, for serving
chopped cilantro, for serving
lime juice, to taste

Preheat broiler to 500. Add 1/2 cup dry quinoa to a saucepan and add 1 cup of water plus 1 tsp Better than Bouillon. Bring to a boil over medium high heat. Once boiling, cover, reduce heat to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes. While the quinoa is cooking, chop your veggies. Add 1 T of extra virgin olive oil to a large saucepan. Once hot, add all of your veggies. Saute for about 5 minutes, or until veggies start to soften. Add black beans and corn and mix well. Add seasonings, and mix to combine. Cook for about 3 minutes. Add your cooked quinoa and stir. Transfer to a baking dish and top with vegan cheese, if using. Broil until cheese is melted and just starting to bubble up. Serve with green onion, cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. Eat as is, or serve with your favorite tortilla chips.

Southwestern Qunioa Bake

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Southwestern Quinoa Bake (vegan & gluten free)

  1. This looks so great! Quinoa, corn and black beans are my favorite things but I have yet to combine all of them. I will definitely be giving this a try! Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.