Taste Test Tuesday: Wildwood SprouTofu Veggie Burgers (vegan & gluten free)

Nick is traveling this week and Lil Sis is spending some time with me. We’ve got a list of things we can’t wait to bake! (coming soon – hopefully!) While at the co-op the other day, Lil Sis picked out these burgers to try out because, let’s face it, we have to eat regular food, too. We were thrilled that they were both vegan and gluten free! So, we decided to give these babies a whirl.

They come in a 2-pack and are already seasoned. There really isn’t much of a description on how to prepare them, so I decided to grill them.
Wildwood vegan/gf burgers

And I’ve never grilled anything (on the actual grill) in my life.

But guess what? I DID IT. And I managed to grill an entire bunch of asparagus as well. And not a hair was singed. 🙂

Once I got some good grill marks going, and they seemed to be sizzling, I started on dressing my burger. I went with ketchup, mustard, pickles and fresh tomato. (Lil Sis swapped in chopped onion for tomato on her burger)
Wildwood vegan/gf burgers

I was a little anxious about the first bite. I mean, there are some REALLY bad veggie burgers out there and I was hoping this wasn’t going to be one of them. But I took my first bite.
Wildwood vegan/gf burgers

And you know what? It was delicious! It had a nice, firm texture and wasn’t mushy. The outside had a nice crust that had caramelized a bit on the outside. As for taste, the seasoning tasted a lot like a seasoned salt (which we both liked), but it tasted a tad reminiscent of a chicken patty. I know, right? Kinda weird, but in a really good way. I was definitely glad that we tried them. I’d definitely buy them again. They’d be great for taking somewhere you needed to bring something to grill, or if you and a friend have a hankering for a veggie burger. And I LOVE the fact that they’re organic and made from sprouted soybeans. Bonus!

The vegan: 4 out of 5
The celiac: 4 out of 5

If you try them, I’d love to know what you think!

Let's hear it!

