Baked Vanilla Donuts (vegan & easily gluten free)

Mmmm. Donuts. Who doesn’t love donuts? Really. It had been quite awhile since we’d made any, so I decided to make some for a weekend breakfast. So glad I did! Nick and I got up early, went for our run and then I baked these babies up when we got home. SO GOOD. These taste just like a traditional cake donut (from what I can remember, anyway!). The freshly ground nutmeg really adds that depth of flavor that makes them so darn good. Feel free to top these with whatever! That’s the fun part! Personally, I like lots of sprinkles. 😉

Baked vegan donuts

Baked Vanilla Donuts
(recipe adapted from Chloe’s Kitchen)
Donuts:
2 2/3 cups all purpose flour (or sub your favorite gluten free flour)
2/3 cup evaporated cane juice
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
1 tsp kosher salt
1 cup almond milk
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Old Fashioned Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
2 T almond milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly grease two donut pans and set aside. In a large bowl whisk together flour, evaporated cane juice, baking soda, nutmeg and salt. In a large measuring cup whisk together almond milk, oil, vinegar and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix together with a rubber spatula until well combined. Do not overmix. Using a pastry bag (or a ziploc bag with the tip cut) pipe batter into prepared baking pans. Bake for 10 minutes, rotating pans 180 degrees after 5 minutes. Let cool in pans 5 minutes after taking them out of the oven, then transfer them to a cooling rack to cool completely. To make the glaze, whisk together powdered sugar and milk until smooth. Once the donuts are cool, dip them into the glaze and then top with your favorite toppings. (makes 12 donuts)

Baked vegan donuts

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Baked Vanilla Donuts (vegan & easily gluten free)

  1. Every time I see baked donuts I kick myself for not having a donut pan. Then when I go to buy one I can’t do it! I feel like I would never use it even though obviously I would. Probably daily. These look delicious and have rebooted the cycle! Maybe I’ll finally go through with it.

  2. I hope you try them out! Super yummy for a weekend breakfast. And donuts are so much fun to decorate! I have way too much fun with that. 😀

  3. Wow, these look amazing! I also have thought about buying a donut pan but always talk myself out of it. I’m pretty sure this post in convincing me to get one though!

Comments are closed.