FAIL: Vegan & Gluten Free Scones/Vegan & Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls

So. Lil Sis and I had some REALLY high hopes about the recipes we’d chosen to bake this week while Nick was away. Cinnamon Filled Banana Scones and Cinnamon Rolls. Sounds delicious, right? Well, while they both had decent flavor, the rest, well. The recipes were major FAILS.

First: Cinnamon Filled Banana Scones
We subbed in gluten free flour, earth balance, coconut milk creamer and egg replacer. The result?
Untitled

The dough was too wet. We had to add in more flour just to get it to hold together. We had high hopes until we pulled them out of the oven. The taste was good, and the texture was nice, but they did NOT hold their shape. I tried to make them again the next day with more flour and while they held their shape a little bit better, I had to had add A LOT more flour. Like, ridiculous amounts. I’m curious to try them vegan-only and see. But then again? I might be over it.

Second: Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls.
We subbed in almond milk and earth balance. (we didn’t make the cream cheese icing) The result?
Pinterest FAIL

Once again, the dough was too wet! What in the world?! We had to add in about another 1/2 – 2/3 cup of flour to get it to hold together. And rolling it up?! HAHAHAHA! Yeah. They, too, spread all over the pan and resembled nothing like any cinnamon roll I’ve ever seen. The taste was nice and the texture was better than the scones, but they didn’t have that chewy feel to them. We whipped up a little powdered sugar icing for them, and they were good for breakfast. But not so much what we had expected.

Now. I realize veganizing and making recipes gluten free can be tricky. Especially the gluten free part. But these recipes were the first in A LONG TIME (like a really long time) that totally flopped. Major bummer. At least we had some good laughs!

What kind of major fails have you made? I know you have to have a least one! 😉

One thought on “FAIL: Vegan & Gluten Free Scones/Vegan & Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Gluten free baking can be so very tricky. At least they tasted good! I always fail at making vegan meatballs. I just can’t do it. It makes no sense. I can make pretty much everything, but meatballs are just not happening. I’ve accepted it.

Comments are closed.