Vegan Black Bean “kitchen sink” Flautas

I’m a nut for Mexican food.  I seriously love the stuff.  There are a couple of foods I could eat all the time.  Anything Mexican, peanut butter, and pizza.  After those three I usually need a bit of a change up.  All that being said we get into a bit of a habit where we have the same type of Mexican food.  Usually its burritos or tacos, and we don’t branch out much from there.  I decided to set out for a change this week.  I tried my hand at making some flautas, and I’ve got to tell you that I stumbled upon a winner.   I’m going to give you the recipe, but take it from me with the name of the recipe, this is a great recipe that you can really take whatever leftovers or produce that you’ve got lying around or need to use up.  One other note, to most people this would be a recipe that would use corn tortillas.  We’re not the biggest fan of the corn tortilla just because of texture, so I used some great flour gordita shells.

DSC_0010

Ingredients:
6 Flour Gordita Shells (I used some from Maria and Ricardos), they’re a little closer in size to a corn tortilla.
2-3 small sweet peppers or 1/2 a red pepper diced
1/2 yellow onion diced
3 small garlic cloves thinly sliced
1/2 small zucchini diced
1 serrano pepper diced (you could tone it down with jalapeno)
1 T olive oil
salt and pepper
2 tablespoons taco seasoning (I used Penzey’s bold taco seasoning)
1/2 can refried spicy black beans
1/2 jar of hot salsa (use your favorite type, you can tone this down as well)
several handfulls of baby spinach

Steps:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. Heat a medium sized saute pan over medium high heat. Add in the oil and coat the pan. Add onions, garlic cloves and peppers. Season with salt and pepper. Heat until the onions are translucent and starting to turn golden brown.
3. Add zucchini and taco seasoning and saute for a few minutes.
4. Mix the refried beans and salsa until well combined.
5. Warm the tortillas to the point where they are pliable
6. Add a portion of the filling down the middle of the tortilla, cover with a bunch of spinach and roll. Place seem side down in an approximately 8″ x 10″ baking dish. Finish by spraying with a small bit of oil.
7. Bake for 15 minutes.
8. Turn on broiler, without waiting cook for 1 minute. Turn each of the flautas over and cook 1 more minute.

DSC_0014

You’ll probably want to try to let these sit a little bit. The filling is HOT. But if you can’t its totally understandable. Just don’t blame me if you burn your tongue. 😉 You can totally modify the filling to be whatever you like. If you give these a go let me know how they turned out.

4 thoughts on “Vegan Black Bean “kitchen sink” Flautas

    1. Ha, thanks. We just get stuck sometimes. It was super easy and I think you can do about anything. Let me know how it turns out.

Comments are closed.