Veganized Sprinkles Cupcake Mix

As we all know, I LOVE cupcakes. Even more importantly, I love Sprinkles Cupcakes. Before becoming vegan Nick and gave it our best to try as many flavors as possible. Unfortunately, there is only one vegan flavor on their menu that we can now enjoy: Red Velvet. But believe me, IT IS AWESOME. There is just a tiny hint of coconut and so I’ve often wondered if they use coconut oil in their cake and/or frosting. Anyway, if you have the opportunity to try one, DO! You won’t be disappointed.

But! Here’s where it gets fun. Sprinkles sells a select few flavors that you can make at home. I’m not sure that every mix is vegan, but the majority of them are. We purchased a Dark Chocolate Mix on our last trip to Chicago and I finally had a reason to make them this past weekend. I got a little brave and made quite a few changes to the directions, but you know what? They turned out AMAZING. Like, really amazing.

Veganized Sprinkles Cupcakes

Cupcake ingredients:
1 package Sprinkles Dark Chocolate Cupcake Mix
2 eggs *I used Ener-G egg replacer equal to 2 eggs
1 1/4 sticks (141g) unsalted butter, firm but not cold *I used 141 grams coconut oil (solid)
2/3 cup (160ml) milk *I used almond milk

I followed the mix directions fairly closely. The main thing I changed was that I only beat the coconut oil for a few seconds instead of 2 minutes.

Dark Chocolate Frosting Ingredients:
1 1/2 sticks (170g) unsalted butter, firm but not cold *I used 85g coconut oil (solid) and 85g Spectrum shortening
2 1/2 cups (250g) powdered sugar
3 oz (85g) bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled to room temperature
1/4 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt *I accidentally forgot this

I followed the frosting directions, but didn’t need to thin it out with any milk as the directions said I might.

The result?
Well, these turned out super rich and chocolatey, with a hint of coconut. The frosting was silky, smooth and AMAZING. I’m totally making that again! Holy cow. So good. The cakes were very moist, chocolatey and just a little on the crumbly side. But not at all in a dry sort of way. Next time I might try half coconut oil and half earth balance in the cakes.

Veganized Sprinkles Cupcakes

Don’t be afraid to try new ways to make things vegan! I’ve had some major fails (hello, scones and cinnamon rolls), but I’ve also had some great successes. Just like these cupcakes. Plus I used coconut oil in place of earth balance, so that makes them healthy, right?

Right?!

😉

What have you veganized?

0 thoughts on “Veganized Sprinkles Cupcake Mix

Let's hear it!

