Taste Test Tuesday: daiya fire-roasted vegetable pizza (vegan & gluten free)

Unless you’re living under a rock, I’m sure you’ve heard of the daiya family of products. Their cheese slices are AMAZING for grilled cheese. They were the first vegan cheese that we tried after changing our diet, and it’s exciting to see new products popping up all the time. This pizza was definitely on my list of must-tries after seeing it on Instagram several months ago. We finally found it on our last Whole Foods run and so we grabbed this one up to try. Not only is it vegan, it’s gluten free! Score!

daiya frozen pizza

We were having a lazy afternoon on Sunday, and so this was the perfect thing to pop in the oven after church. My first thought was that it was pretty small. But then I remembered that all frozen pizzas are. After reading some nutrition on the back I discovered one-third of the pizza only had 250 calories. That certainly beats out any frozen pizza I’d ever eaten! Plus, it was me, Nick and Lil Sis enjoying it, so it was the perfect amount for us. You have to get your oven SUPER hot (500 degrees) which can take a little bit, so this isn’t something you can make on a whim. It baked up pretty fast – about 15 minutes. I cut it into pieces and we dug in.

daiya frozen pizza

It was pretty quiet for a few minutes. I think we were all trying to gauge how we felt about it. The verdict? The crust was great. I mean, really tasty. I don’t eat a lot of gluten free pizza crust (a lot of gluten free baked goods have eggs in them), so I don’t have much to compare it to, but I really liked this one. Crispy on the outside with just enough chew on the inside. The crust was by far the best part. The rest was pretty ho-hum, I’m sad to say. There was a huge lack of sauce. I know, I know. It’s hard to get a lot on a frozen pizza, but this barely had any. I have also gotten used to eating pizza with very little, but mostly no cheese, so the amount of cheese was a little much. Overall, this was fine. Not great, not awful. Just somewhere in the middle. Nothing “exceptional” as Lil Sis said.

The vegans: 6 out of 10
The celiac: 5 out of 10

Have you tried this any of daiya’s pizzas? What did you think? We still have a mushroom and roasted garlic version to try. I’m anxious to see how it compares.

One thought on “Taste Test Tuesday: daiya fire-roasted vegetable pizza (vegan & gluten free)

Let's hear it!

