Sunday Sips: Kissmeyer Pale Ale

Hi everyone.  Its been a crazy week around here to say the least.  Sorry about the lack of posts for either of us, but it seems like its just been go, go, go.  One of the things that we’ve been doing is trying to spend as much time with our best friends as possible.  They’re headed out for Charlotte, NC in the middle of July.  Its sad to see them go.  Last night I couldn’t believe that its been 9 years since we first started hanging out.  That’s a lot of shared life experiences.

All this hanging out provided a wonderful opportunity to try a new brew however.  On Friday night we went out to the Lincoln Cafe in Mt. Vernon, Iowa.  While the Lincoln isn’t exactly what I would call a vegan friendly restaurant, we always make do.  Some of you may have even seen it on Bizarre Foods America.  They make fantastic food there, some of the best I’ve ever had, and the french fries are out of this world good.  While we were waiting to get our table, I wandered over to their wine bar just down the street to grab a beer to take back.  What I found was this Kissmeyer Pale Ale.  The brewery is still a little bit of a mystery to me.  Even googling this beer doesn’t turn up a whole lot.  I can say that its brewed in Denmark, so if you care to find it, look in your imports section.
Untitled

Untitled

As you can see from the picture, the bottle is fairly plain. It basically has the name and touts this as an American West Coast style pale ale. On that I was not disappointed in the slightest. We’ve got a good pour with a TON of effervescence. This beer had a lot of bubbles. It made for a nice thin white head, it didn’t just disappear, but it went away fairly quickly. The nose was definitely bready, a little bit of citrus to it. I found it to go down quite easily. It was just the slightest bit sour with a nice pack of hops that gave it a well balanced flavor, the end left me with an aftertaste of wheat somewhat like a nice piece of bread. Jackie even tried a bit and said she thought it wasn’t bad, for a non beer drinker that’s pretty impressive. At 6.5% ABV the beer can easily be sessionable if that’s what you’re looking for, or one that can stand up to time. I found as it got warmer it stayed just as good as where it started. If you can find this where you’re at, I think its worth giving a try. While it didn’t blow my socks off, I found it to be a really nice summer beer. I’d give it 3.5 out of 5.

