Sunday Sips: Golden Nugget by Toppling Goliath Brewery

This week I’m bringing you another winner by Toppling Goliath Brewery out of little Decorah, Iowa. The Golden Nugget is an American style IPA that is full of hoppiness, and yet is rounded enough to not make me cringe. It’s got an ABV of 6.3% and an IBU of 56. I had this in a little brew pub here in Cedar Rapids, so it’s a lot harder to tell some of the things I usually take note of, like what is the head like off the pour and the nose isn’t as well defined after its sat for a few minutes. But I’m still going to try to do it justice, because I’m a beer snob. 🙂

Untitled

The lacing of this beer was nice and well defined as you’d expect out of a little bit higher alcohol level. The pour looked a lot more like a wheat beer, this was an opaque look that was a really nice golden amber. The head that was left when it arrived was a nice bright white in color. The nose was typical of an IPA, fairly forward with citrus hints with perhaps a bit of grassiness to it. The taste was fresh bright and crisp on my palate. I didn’t care for it as much as their Pseudo Sue, but I had no problem finishing this off with a plate of French fries that our table was sharing. It was pretty excellent for a warmish summer afternoon. I would give it a 4 out of 5. I’ll try to stop reviewing TG beers for all of you that don’t have ready access to the wonderfulness that it is. I mean, how can we be interactive and have commentary about our beers if nobody else can get it. I say road trips are in order for everyone to have a vegan beer meet up. 😉 On that note have a great week everyone.

5 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Golden Nugget by Toppling Goliath Brewery

  1. You’re right, it does look a bit like a wheat beer. but I can see how, crisp and cold, this would go beautifully on a hot day, and I can see how it might be extra tasty next to something salty, like fries. Where did you get the IBUs and ABV if you had it at a brewpub? did they have it listed, or was did you have to go online and do research?

    1. They had 100 beers on tap with a menu that listed it where they had the info. It was actually a pretty cool thing they had going there. We’ll definitely go back and try some more.

Comments are closed.