Taste Test Tuesday: Pillsbury Pie & Pastry Dough (gluten free & vegan)

Have you seen the new line of gluten free doughs from Pillsbury? Only the pie and pastry dough is vegan, so I snatched one up to try. I prefer homemade pie dough, but you know what? It’s really nice to have some on hand sometimes. Like Saturday, for instance. We went to the Farmer’s Market in the morning and I grabbed a pint of tart cherries. Knowing that I had some ready-to-go pie dough in the fridge, I decided to make a pie! In case you were wondering, the cherries ROCKED. So good.

Anyway, back to the dough. It’s sold in the refrigerator section of the grocery store (I have yet to see it at Target), next to the other pre-made doughs and such.
Vegan & gluten free tart cherry pie

It’s fairly straightforward on how to use it. Dump it out, roll it, and go! It did look a bit like play-doh when I first got it out, but thankfully, it didn’t smell like play-doh.
Vegan & gluten free tart cherry pie

I decided to make two hand pies, and then use what was left to make a single-crust pie. The best way to roll it out, according to the container, is to roll it out between two pieces of parchment or wax paper so it doesn’t stick. It’s a bit crumbly and sensitive to work with, but because it’s gluten free, I wasn’t surprised. I had to scratch one piece I rolled out and start over, but we made it in the end! It went nicely into our pie pan and didn’t come apart too much, as I had anticipated.
Vegan & gluten free tart cherry pie

Vegan & gluten free tart cherry pie

I added my tart cherry mixture and a few pieces of cut pie dough for the top. I know, I know. A dog bone?! It was the smallest cookie cutter we had! 🙂
Vegan & gluten free tart cherry pie

The hand pies came out looking and smelling AMAZING. I froze them for later consumption (we did have an ENTIRE PIE to eat, after all!). But they looked great!
Vegan & gluten free tart cherry pie

The pie came out looking and smell great, too.
Vegan & gluten free tart cherry pie

We waited for the pie to cool, mostly for the easy of slicing and serving purposes, and then dug in with a little Lunaberry Swirl coconut ice cream. HOLY YUM!
Untitled

The crust tasted super buttery and it was really flaky! It had a bit more chew, perhaps, than a non-gluten free pie crust, but other than that, I couldn’t tell much difference. This would be great to have on hand for pot pies, hand pies, etc. It was a little tricky at first, but it all worked out in the end. Just took a little patience and a few tries. I’d definitely recommend this one! I wouldn’t use it all the time, of course, but it’s a tasty shortcut!

Have you tried these? What did you think?

the vegans: 4 out of 5

