Fresh Fig Bars (vegan & gluten free)

I know that figs are a vegan superfood, but there is something about them that scares me a little bit. I’m never sure how to use them! While at Whole Foods last weekend, Nick decided on a whim to grab a basket. We had no idea how we were going to use them, but we decided just to go for it. I scoured the interwebs for inspiration. I found several ideas, and finally landed on one. I think I chose it mostly because I had all of the ingredients already! But I’m glad I did. These turned out wonderfully. They’re flavorful, moist and just a tad chewy. They are great by themselves, but they also pair well with your favorite coffee or tea. These bars definitely showcase the fig! Yum!

Untitled

Fresh Fig Bars
(recipe adapted from Happy. Healthy. Life.)
3/4 cup gluten free rolled oats
1 cups all-purpose gluten free flour
1/2 cup evaporated cane juice
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/4 cup warm water + 1/2 tsp chia seeds + 1/2 tsp ground flax seeds, whisked together
5/8 cup almond milk
1/2 extra ripe banana, mashed
1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Fig mixture:
1 basket of figs, sliced thinly, stems removed
1 T pure maple syrup
1/8 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit juice + 1/4 tsp zest

Topping:
1/3 cup raw, unsalted, chopped pecans
1 tsp gluten free oats
1 tsp evaporated cane juice

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. lightly grease an 11 x 7-inch baking pan with cooking spray. Combine the oats, flour, salt, pumpkin pie spice, baking powder and sugar. Fold in the wet ingredients. The batter will seem a bit on the thin side, but that’s okay. Pour into prepared baking pan. Mix together the sliced figs, maple syrup and grapefruit juice. Top prepared batter with sliced figs. Pour remaining liquid on top. Sprinkle the pecan, oat and sugar topping over top the batter. Bake for 25-30 minutes (mine took about 27 min), until the edges just start to brown and center is baked through. Cool and slice into bars. These freeze well, also!

Fresh Fig Bars

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Fresh Fig Bars (vegan & gluten free)

  1. Love that these are gluten free! I’ve been trying to make sure I get enough calcium in my diet, and figs are supposed to be a good source. Eating these would be the tastiest way to get my calcium ever! Celeste 🙂

Let's hear it!

