Sunday Sips: Batch 19 Prohibition Style Ale by Coors Brewing

I’m not typically a fan of big macro brewery beers, but every now and then something catches my eye that I really want to try. Given that this beer wasn’t even labeled by the macro brewery, they caught me by surprise and sucked me in. What lured me in about Batch 19 is that its an ale supposedly brewed using the recipe from 1919 back in the prohibition era. Jackie and I had walked up to a little bar and grill a few blocks from our house and nothing on tap intrigued me, so I branched out and tried this beer based on a picture from the wall. It’s got an ABV of 5.5 %.

The other problem, I didn’t have my phone with me, so this week I’m left without a picture.  The bottle isn’t all that impressive in a dark bar anyway.

I drank it from the bottle, because hey, sometimes you just want to do that, so there won’t be any reviews as far as the lacing or the head. The nose was somewhat bready maybe more like a cracker, I got a little bit of grassiness in there as well, maybe even a slight hint of citrus. This is all from the small opening of a bottle so forgive the lack of anything profound. This was a really good lager/ale, I enjoyed the subtle complexities that played around on the tongue. Well balanced, somewhat crisp, and just an all-around good beer especially for a summer day. I would give it a 3.5 out of 5. If you’re stuck at a watering hole and they only have macro brews on tap, reach for this one, and feel free to enjoy a few. I found it surprisingly good.

Let's hear it!

