Sunday Sips: “Dark and Stormy” (Its Cocktail Time)

Oh man, what a week as Jacks attested too on her Friday Post.  Its rough when your best friends end up moving 18 hours away.  I guess its a good thing that I’ve got so many frequent flier miles.  🙂  Given everything that’s gone on this week, and the fact that I’ve guest blogged 2 beers over at The Vegan’s Husband, I figured I’d do a cocktail post for once.  This one is seriously great for a warm summers day.  This is super refreshing, but as with most recipes, its all about the quality of the ingredients.  Don’t skimp here either.

Dark and Stormy

Dark and Stormy

Take a glass of your choice, fill it with ice, add 1 part of rum to 1 part of fresh lime juice and top with ginger beer.  Garnish with a lime wedge and there you have it, a Dark and Stormy.

Personally I like to go a bit heavier on the rum, but with Jackie drinking it with me, we compromise.  🙂

I wanted to go into a little detail about the ginger beer and the rum that we ended up using.  So lets start with the ginger beer.  For those of you not familiar with it, it is very similar to a ginger ale, though less filtered and refined.  The ginger beer that I use is Bundaberg Ginger Beer.  Its from a company in Austrailia.  I’ve found it at Costco once (I was super excited), but I’ve seen it at World Market and a few other grocery stores from time to time.  I really like this one because you can tell they’ve used fresh ginger, but its not too terribly spicy, and its also not overly sweet.  It really makes for the perfect drink mixer.  Don’t get me wrong I do like a spicy ginger beer/ale, but not all the time.

But now onto what you all really came for, to talk about the booze.  🙂  The rum that I use any time that Jackie wants a drink is Ron Arehucas Carta Oro.  Its a Spanish rum, and I know you’re all probably thinking, if you want rum use a Jamaican Rum.  I’ve got to tell you I thought the same thing for a long time.  I stumbled upon this when I went to a coworkers house one night and he found out that I liked rum.  He ended up putting 12 bottles on the kitchen island and told me to start sampling.  I learned about a lot of good ones that night, but this took the cake.  Its a light golden rum, that is perfectly balanced, it’s been aged one year, and is incredibly smooth.  This rum doesn’t leave a burn or an aftertaste.  I like it both mixed or drank straight.  As a mixer it can be terribly dangerous, I tend to lose it in the drink.  The nose is sweet and sugary, with a slight hint of floral aromas.  ABV is 37.5%, so while its pretty strong, as far as liquors go its not up there very high.  Now when I got my bottle I had to search far and wide in Chicago to get it.  I’m hoping that its being more widely imported now, but if you see it, get it.  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

And the best part of this cocktail is that everyone can enjoy.  No need to worry about the malt, so its Vegan and Gluten Free.  We all win.  🙂  Have a great week guys and gals.

Let's hear it!

