Sunday Sips: Pumpkick by New Belgium Brewing

So last week I teased you all with talking about seasonals.  And while I’m not really ready for it to be the time of year that we’re into fall seasonals, I found myself drawn into the amazing artwork on this bottle of beer.  I think you have all probably noticed by now that generally I’m a fan of New Belgium Brewing.  They tend to do their beer the right way, without over doing it, trying to make things in a more eco-conscious way and really just making a great tasting product.  So what do we have here, we’ve got a pumpkin ale called Pumpkick.  And as for the artwork its this fantastic jackolantern getting kicked into the air.

 
Pump kick
 

Usually I’m not into pumpkin beers. They tend to be all spice, with no real pumpkin flavor to them. And after drinking this one, its more of the same. Sometimes I’m not sure why I try. All that being said, it was still good, just not for my palate. But lets get into the particulars about that. You’ve got a really nice deep rust color going on with the pour, with a little head that was an off white in color. There was more there but I was really getting hung up on trying to get good lighting to take the picture. The lacing was well pronounced though. This beer had a little bit of a bite to it. The ABV was a nice rounded 6%. The flavors were your traditional cinnamon, all spice, nutmeg, you know, pumpkin pie in a bottle. There was just a hint of a fruitiness to it that the brewers claim is cranberry. I didn’t really get the cranberry, but I did find it to have a nice bright bite. The beer got better as it warmed up a little bit as the flavors were able to meld a little better. All that being said though I’m not going to end up going out and buying more. As I said earlier I have trouble with pumpkin beers so please don’t read too much into my thoughts on this one, if you like pumpkin ales I think you’ll enjoy it. As for me though I give it a 2 out of 5.

Catch you all next week.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Pumpkick by New Belgium Brewing

  1. See, I tend to dislike fruit in my beer too, all evidence to the contrary, but pumpkin seems to agree wit me. Have you had Southern Tier’s Pumking? Again, pumpkin pie in a bottle, but it still tastes like beer. I’m looking for a new autumn seasonal this year too, but I suppose New Belgium is off the table. . . Show off 😉

    1. Hmmm, I don’t think I’ve tried pumpking before. I definitely get stuck on Octoberfest beers as my seasonal of choice, so I keep trying to branch out.

      One of the things I’ve liked about brew fests is getting to try so many at one time. Despite all my reviews I still don’t tend to have more than one or two a week.

Comments are closed.